Federal district · prosecutions
U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Florida
59 pandemic-relief fraud prosecution records for the Southern District of Florida, naming 52 defendants. By program: 42 PPP, 7 EIDL, 9 unemployment insurance, 1 other or unclassified. 19 have a case page in the archive. An amount is stated for 58 of them, from $20,000 to $78,000,000. Source dates run from 2021-05-12 to 2026-03-10.
Cases
51 defendants from 59 rows · 13 with a case page · sorted by amount, largest first
| Defendant | Case page | Program | Charge | Amount | Disposition | Sentence | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dumarsais Blaise Jr. | PPP | conspiracy | $78,000,000 (DOJ release) | sentenced | 27 months | 2023-04-11 | |
| Jean R. Andre | PPP | conspiracy to commit wire fraud | $75,000,000 scheme to fraudulently obtain over $75 million in Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) loans | guilty plea | 44 months | 2022-02-03 | |
| Benjamin Rafael | PPP, EIDL | conspiracy to commit wire fraud; making false statements to a financial institution | $60,000,000 scheme to steal over $60 million from investors and producers seeking financing for movies and Broadway shows | guilty plea | 42 months | 2021-07-15 | |
| South Florida Residents | PPP | conspiracy to defraud the Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) | $28,000,000 seeking | guilty plea | 15 months | 2023-01-13 | |
| Daniel Hernandez | PPP/EIDL | conspiracy to commit wire fraud | $25,000,000 amount sought | plea | 120 months | 2023-03-14 | |
| Kareem Memon | PPP/EIDL | conspiracy to commit health care fraud, conspiracy to violate the federal Anti-Kickback Statute, wire fraud, money laundering, felon in possession of firearms and ammunition | $11,000,000 (DOJ release) | sentenced | 96 months | 2024-05-30 | |
| Sherry Joseph | PPP | conspiracy to commit wire fraud | $9,200,000 fraudulent PPP loan applications seeking more than $9.2 million | guilty plea | 45 months | 2023-01-27 | |
| Yunior Barrera Almaguer | PPP/EIDL | leading a conspiracy to defraud the PPP out of loan proceeds | $9,007,887 (DOJ release) | sentenced | 87 months | 2023-05-19 | |
| Andre Clark | PPP | conspiracy, wire fraud, bank fraud | $7,263,564 attempted | plea | 33 months | 2021-08-03 | |
| David J. Varrone | EIDL | conspiracy to commit wire fraud | $6,400,000 proceeds received | plea | 108 months | 2023-03-23 | |
| Abel Bonilla | UI/PUA | conspiracy to commit wire fraud | $4,800,000 restitution ordered | sentenced | 46 months | 2025-11-13 | |
| Bryan Seda Morales | UI/PUA | conspiracy to commit wire fraud | $4,800,000 restitution ordered | sentenced | 78 months | 2025-11-12 | |
| Michael Amparo Suarez | UI | unemployment insurance fraud scheme | $4,800,000 scheme | sentenced | 69 months | 2025-11-10 | |
| Andre Lorquet | United States v. Andre Lorquet — S.D. Fla., No. 1:22-cr-20326-KMM | PPP, EIDL | money laundering, aggravated identity theft | $4,700,000 obtained | plea | 71 months | 2024-03-08 |
| David T. Hines | United States v. David Tyler Hines — U.S. District Court, S.D. Fla., Miami | PPP | wire fraud | $3,984,557 PPP loan proceeds $3,900,000 proceeds received | guilty plea plea | 78 months | 2021-05-12 |
| Harold Eugene Eubanks | UI | conspiracy to commit bank fraud, wire fraud, and mail fraud | $3,200,000 disbursement | guilty plea | 63 months | 2025-01-16 | |
| Leonel Rivero | PPP | Wire fraud scheme to fraudulently obtain over 100 COVID-19 relief loans under the Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) | $2,300,000 attempted $900,000 PPP loan proceeds received | plea guilty plea | 24 months | 2021-11-17 | |
| Max Alberto Mera Ulloa | PPP | conspiracy to commit wire fraud | $2,287,855 restitution ordered | plea | 27 months | 2026-03-10 | |
| Gregory Scott Keough | USA v. Keough — U.S. District Court, S.D. Fla., West Palm Beach | PPP/EIDL | wire fraud, money laundering, conspiracy | $2,000,000 attempted | plea | 30 months | 2024-02-09 |
| Luke Joselin | PPP | seeking nearly $2 million in fraudulent Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) loans | $2,000,000 (DOJ release) | sentenced | 84 months | 2022-11-02 | |
| Jimpcy One | PPP, EIDL | conspiring to launder proceeds obtained from business email compromise schemes and fraudulently obtained Covid-19 relief loans | $2,000,000 PPP and EIDL funds received | guilty plea | 36 months | 2021-12-02 | |
| Derek Acree | United States v. Derek James Acree — S.D. Fla., No. 9:22-cr-80157-AHS | PPP/EIDL | conspiracy to commit wire fraud | $1,600,000 PPP and EIDL loans obtained | guilty plea | 41 months | 2023-01-04 |
| Malaina Chapman | United States v. Malaina Chapman — U.S. District Court, S.D. Fla. | PPP, EIDL, Rental Assistance PPP/EIDL/other aid | conspiracy, defrauding COVID-19 relief programs | $1,297,178 actual loss; restitution ordered | sentenced guilty plea | 54 months | 2025-06-17 |
| Joshua J. Bellamy | United States v. Joshua Bellamy — PPP case, S.D. Fla., No. 0:21-cr-60064 | PPP | conspiracy, wire fraud, bank fraud | $1,246,565 restitution ordered | guilty plea | 37 months | 2021-12-13 2021-12-10 |
| Joshua Bellamy | United States v. Joshua Bellamy — PPP case, S.D. Fla., No. 0:21-cr-60064 | PPP | $1,246,565 PPP loan proceeds | guilty plea | 37 months | ||
| Malik Wright | UI | Conspiracy to commit bank fraud; wire fraud; mail fraud | $1,100,000 scheme_total | guilty plea | 41 months | Jan-Feb 2024 | |
| Samuel Bush III | Unemployment Insurance | conspiracy to commit bank fraud, wire fraud and mail fraud | $1,100,000 loss amount | guilty plea | 33 months | 2024-02-20 | |
| Franklin Brown | UI | conspiracy to commit bank fraud, wire fraud and mail fraud | $1,100,000 loss | guilty plea | 33 months | 2024-02-09 | |
| Johnny Philus | PPP | conspiracy to commit wire fraud | $1,100,000 attempted | plea | 30 months | 2021-06-02 | |
| Conrad Brandon Bernard | EIDL/UI PPP/EIDL, UI | bank fraud, identify theft conspiracy, wire fraud, bank fraud | $1,083,340 proceeds received $1,080,000 COVID-19 relief and unemployment compensation fraudulently obtained using stolen identities | sentenced not specified | 50 months | 2025-03-10 2021-10-13 | |
| Elie Floradin | PPP | fraudulent scheme seeking more than $1 million in Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) loans | $1,000,000 amount sought | plea | 48 months | 2023-05-23 | |
| Carlos Vazquez | USA v. Vazquez — U.S. District Court, Southern District of Florida | PPP | conspiracy to commit wire fraud | $921,875 PPP loan obtained | guilty plea | 42 months | 2021-11-17 |
| Mackenzie Pierre | PPP, EIDL, Rental Assistance | wire fraud | $839,000 PPP loans, EIDL loans, and Broward County’s Rental Assistance Program funds obtained | guilty plea | 36 months | 2022-12-14 | |
| Marlin Jean | UI | stealing other people’s identities to fraudulently obtain COVID-19 related unemployment benefits | $826,332 (DOJ release) | sentenced | 88 months | 2023-03-23 | |
| Anderson Coulanges | UI | conspiracy to commit access device fraud; aggravated identity theft; access device fraud (unlawful possession of 15 or more access devices) | $650,000 The California EDD issued approximately $650,000 in UI benefits on pre-paid debit cards as a result of false claims. | guilty plea | 48 months | 2025-01-06 | |
| Franklin Luma | UI | conspiracy to commit access device fraud; aggravated identity theft | $650,000 actual loss | guilty plea | 36 months | 2025-01-03 | |
| Scott Lee Huss | PPP | wire fraud | $600,000 PPP loan proceeds received | guilty plea | 27 months | 2025-11-13 | |
| Damian Davis | PPP | bank and wire fraud | $586,545 Total amount of PPP loan proceeds received across three fraudulent applications. | not specified | 24 months | 2023-04-12 | |
| Jean Robert Dorcius | PPP/EIDL | PPP/EIDL fraud | $440,515 fraudulently obtained COVID-19 relief loans and grants (PPP+EIDL) | guilty plea | 13 months | 2024-04-30 | |
| Arashio Harris | United States v. Arashio Harris — S.D. Fla., No. 1:23-cr-20295-CMA | PPP/EIDL | wire fraud | $432,051 two PPP loans, two EIDL loans and an EIDL advance | guilty plea | 18 months | 2023-10-30 |
| Luke Pierre Jr. | PPP | conspiracy to commit wire fraud | $415,000 fraudulently obtained loan amount | plea | 24 months | 2022-02-01 | |
| Damara Holness | PPP | lying on a coronavirus relief loan application and fraudulently obtaining hundreds of thousands of dollars | $300,000 Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) loan application on behalf of Holness Consulting, Inc. | not specified | 20 months | 2022-01-31 | |
| Dennes Garcia | PPP | conspiracy, wire fraud, bank fraud | $285,742 PPP loan for his own company, Dhanda Corporation | guilty plea | 18 months | 2021-10-13 | |
| Samuel Harris | PPP/EIDL | wire fraud | $285,479 loan proceeds received | plea | 4 months | 2023-12-11 | |
| Omar Smith | PPP | lying on a coronavirus relief loan application | $212,500 fraudulently obtaining | guilty plea | 15 months | 2022-11-17 | |
| Willie Curry | United States v. Willie Curry — EIDL case, S.D. Fla., Miami Division | EIDL | wire fraud, conspiracy | $160,000 disbursed loan proceeds and advance | plea guilty plea | 6 months | 2021-11-17 |
| Jennifer Pamela Izzo | EIDL | wire fraud, aggravated identity theft | $150,000 amount sought | plea | 51 months | 2023-03-24 | |
| Elisa Rivera | EIDL | conspiracy to commit wire fraud | $117,000 money she had fraudulently obtained for herself and others through the conspiracy | plea | 2 months | 2022-08-04 | |
| George Arestuche | United States v. George Arestuche — EIDL case, S.D. Fla., Miami Division | EIDL | $114,679.40 restitution ordered; probation only | guilty plea | 5 years probation | ||
| Angelo Stephen | United States v. Angelo Stephen — EIDL and PPP case, S.D. Fla., Miami | PPP/EIDL | wire fraud, false claims, conspiracy | $90,166 loan proceeds received and bank account takeover proceeds $75,513.59 restitution ordered | plea guilty plea | 4 months | 2025-06-03 |
| Alexandra Acosta | United States v. Alexandra Acosta — S.D. Fla., No. 0:23-cr-60170-RNS | PPP | conspiracy to defraud the Small Business Administration, false statements to the SBA, wire fraud | $20,000 loan proceeds received; principal and interest of fraudulently obtained PPP loan | trial | 4 months | 2024-08-27 2024-05-30 |
Data and method
Each row is one row of the pandemic-relief sentences table, printed as that table prints it: defendant, program, charge, amount and its basis, disposition, and the date of the source the row was read from. A blank cell is a blank cell in the table. The sentence column states the months of imprisonment the table records, or the years of probation where it records no custodial term. A case page is linked only where a case page in this district names the defendant; 19 of the 59 rows do. District is the table’s own district field, resolved to this court. Rows whose district field names only a state with more than one federal district are not placed on any district page. A date the table writes in another form is restated as YYYY-MM-DD; a cell that is not a date is printed as it stands. An amount of $1 billion or more is left out: those cells carry a program appropriation quoted in the source release, not a sum attributed to the defendant. Some defendants have more than one row because the table read them from more than one source.
Court hub: U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Florida — every filing in the archive from this court, with the case pages it holds.