Interactive
Blueacorn in court: its founders, lenders, marketers and bank, 2021–2026
Between June 28, 2021 and January 8, 2026, Blueacorn’s companies and founders filed or faced 11 lawsuits, arbitrations and court petitions involving one another, both of Blueacorn’s lenders, two companies that brought it borrowers, and JPMorgan Chase. Each entry gives the court, the number, the parties, the claims where the record states them, and the outcome as of the last record we have.
- 11matters, in 8 courts and one arbitration
- 4with PayNerd or Womply, the two companies that brought Blueacorn borrowers
- $175M+what Blueacorn said in 2022 it was suing its marketer, PayNerd, to recover
- $19.8Mthe reserve the arbitrator said should go to PayNerd, by Blueacorn’s account
The matters on one timeline
- Founders
- Capital Plus
- Prestamos
- Marketers•
- Bank
- Filed to last event
- Still pending at the last record
- No record after filing
- •One dated ruling; filing date not in our copies
Each bar runs from the filing to the last event in the record. Select a bar to read the entry.
Every matter
Founders
Reis and Hockridge v. Spirakus
- Court
- Maricopa County Superior Court, Arizona, No. CV2021-010252
- Dates
- Filed June 28, 2021; last event July 27, 2021
- Parties
- Nathan Reis and Stephanie Hockridge (plaintiffs); Noah Spirakus (defendant).
- Claims
- Verified complaint with an application for an order to show cause. The register does not state the claims. The filing came 33 days after the May 26, 2021 operating agreement that, the House report says, split Blueacorn PPP, LLC 50–50 between Spirakus on one side and Reis and Hockridge on the other (House report, p. 27).
- Outcome
- Spirakus opposed the application on July 16, 2021. The plaintiffs filed a notice of voluntary dismissal without prejudice on July 23, and the case was dismissed on July 27, 2021. No ruling on the merits. As of: register retrieved Sept. 27, 2026.
- Not yet seen
- The complaint and the response are on the clerk’s paid system; we do not have them.
- Record
YXS Investments, Proteck and FEFO Group v. Capital Plus
- Court
- U.S. District Court, Northern District of Texas, No. 4:24-cv-00664-P
- Dates
- Filed July 17, 2024; last event February 2025
- Parties
- YXS Investments, Inc., Proteck, LLC (Michael Cota) and FEFO Group, LLC (James Flores) v. Capital Plus Financial, Crossroads, Eric Donnelly and Farzana Giga. Blueacorn is not a party.
- Claims
- Breach of contract, breach of the covenant of good faith, fraudulent transfer, and money had and received, over the founders’ 8 percent share of Capital Plus’s SBA fees under an April 12, 2021 settlement about the ownership of Fin Cap (complaint).
- Outcome
- Closed in February 2025. The free docket does not show how. As of: CourtListener docket.
- Not yet seen
- The closing entries are on PACER only.
- Record
- YXS Investments, Inc. v. Capital Plus Financial, LLC, N.D. Tex. No. 4:24-cv-00664-P, Doc. 1: complaint (July 17, 2024)
- YXS Investments, Inc. v. Capital Plus Financial, LLC, N.D. Tex. No. 4:24-cv-00664-P, docket on CourtListener. The free entries end before the case closed.
Capital Plus
Fin Cap (Blueacorn) v. Capital Plus, arbitration
- Court
- American Arbitration Association, No. 01-23-0001-1748
- Dates
- Filed March 21, 2023; last event April 29, 2024
- Parties
- Fin Cap, Inc. d/b/a Blueacorn (claimant); Capital Plus Financial, LLC (respondent, with counterclaims).
- Claims
- Breach of the lender service provider agreement, or in the alternative unjust enrichment and quantum meruit; $244,166,298.44 claimed (Texas application, paras. 25–26). Capital Plus filed counterclaims in May 2023 and posted a $5 million bond for interim access to loan documents (FY2023 audited financials, note 19).
- Outcome
- Confidential Final Award, April 29, 2024, filed under seal. Blueacorn says part has been paid and a $19,796,022.81 reserve is payable, to PayNerd unless PayNerd agrees otherwise or a court rules for Blueacorn (application, paras. 9–12). As of: Blueacorn’s application, Apr. 3, 2025.
- Not yet seen
- The award is sealed.
- Record
- Fin Cap Incorporated v. Capital Plus Financial LLC, D. Ariz. No. 2:25-cv-01122, Doc. 1: Blueacorn’s application for confirmation of arbitration award (Apr. 3, 2025)
- Crossroads Impact Corp., audited consolidated financial statements, fiscal years ended Oct. 31, 2023 and 2022
- Fin Cap, Inc. v. Capital Plus Financial LLC, 352nd District Court, Tarrant County, Texas, No. 352-341122-23: Blueacorn’s application for prejudgment writs of attachment and garnishment, with the Calhoun affidavit and exhibits (file-stamped Mar. 23, 2023). We do not have a court copy.
Fin Cap v. Capital Plus, prejudgment writs
- Court
- 352nd District Court, Tarrant County, Texas, No. 352-341122-23
- Dates
- Filed March 23, 2023; no later record
- Parties
- Fin Cap, Inc. d/b/a Blueacorn v. Capital Plus Financial LLC; garnishees Evolve Bank & Trust and Crossroads.
- Claims
- Writs of attachment and garnishment in aid of the arbitration, to secure what Blueacorn said Capital Plus owed.
- Outcome
- No ruling in the records we have. As of: file stamp, Mar. 23, 2023.
- Not yet seen
- We do not have a court copy of the application or the register.
- Record
- Fin Cap, Inc. v. Capital Plus Financial LLC, 352nd District Court, Tarrant County, Texas, No. 352-341122-23: Blueacorn’s application for prejudgment writs of attachment and garnishment, with the Calhoun affidavit and exhibits (file-stamped Mar. 23, 2023). We do not have a court copy.
Fin Cap v. Capital Plus, confirmation of the award
- Court
- U.S. District Court, District of Arizona, No. 2:25-cv-01122-MTL
- Dates
- Filed April 3, 2025; last event May 21, 2025
- Parties
- Fin Cap Incorporated d/b/a Blueacorn v. Capital Plus Financial LLC.
- Claims
- Confirmation of the April 29, 2024 award under 9 U.S.C. § 9 and judgment under 9 U.S.C. § 13 (application).
- Outcome
- Capital Plus agreed to the form of order (stipulated notice). Judge Michael T. Liburdi confirmed the award and ordered judgment for Blueacorn “as described in the Final Award,” with no fees or costs to either side (order). Amended judgment May 21, 2025; case terminated (judgment). As of: judgment, May 21, 2025.
- Record
- Fin Cap Incorporated v. Capital Plus Financial LLC, D. Ariz. No. 2:25-cv-01122, Doc. 1: Blueacorn’s application for confirmation of arbitration award (Apr. 3, 2025)
- D. Ariz. No. 2:25-cv-01122, Doc. 15: stipulated notice of lodging agreed form of order (May 20, 2025)
- D. Ariz. No. 2:25-cv-01122, Doc. 16: order confirming the Final Award (May 21, 2025)
- D. Ariz. No. 2:25-cv-01122, Doc. 18: amended clerk’s judgment (May 21, 2025)
Prestamos
BA PPP Fin v. Prestamos CDFI
- Court
- Maricopa County Superior Court, Arizona, No. CV2026-001079
- Dates
- Filed January 8, 2026; last event February 2, 2026
- Parties
- BA PPP Fin, LLC, the Blueacorn company that signed the Prestamos agreement, v. Prestamos CDFI, LLC; third-party defendants docketed as “Blueacord PPP, LLC,” “Blueacord Tech Inc” and Blue Oak Forest LLC.
- Claims
- Application for confirmation of an arbitration award, filed January 8, 2026, with two notices of errata and a motion to seal exhibits.
- Outcome
- Judgment filed February 2, 2026 and noted “FINAL”; signed February 3. The register shows no amount. As of: register retrieved Sept. 27, 2026.
- Not yet seen
- The application, the award and the judgment are on the clerk’s paid system, and the exhibits were the subject of a motion to seal.
- Record
Marketers
Womply v. Capital Plus and Blueacorn
- Court
- Dallas County district court, removed to the U.S. District Court, Northern District of Texas, No. DC-21-13097; 3:21-cv-02636-B
- Dates
- Filed September 9, 2021; last event January 5, 2023
- Parties
- Oto Analytics, Inc. d/b/a Womply v. Capital Plus Financial, Crossroads, Eric Donnelly, BA Fin Orion, LLC d/b/a Blueacorn and Barry Calhoun.
- Claims
- Womply, which referred borrowers to Capital Plus through BA Fin Orion, said it was owed $76,714,482.67 in fees (notice of removal; amended complaint).
- Outcome
- The Blueacorn defendants were dismissed without prejudice for lack of personal jurisdiction on April 11, 2022 (order); on July 20, 2022 the court gave Womply leave to replead its claims against them (order). The case settled and was dismissed with prejudice January 5, 2023 (Doc. 156). Terms not public. As of: dismissal, Jan. 5, 2023.
- Record
- N.D. Tex. No. 3:21-cv-02636, notice of removal (Oct. 25, 2021)
- N.D. Tex. No. 3:21-cv-02636, Doc. 20: Womply’s First Amended Complaint (Dec. 23, 2021)
- N.D. Tex. No. 3:21-cv-02636, Doc. 68: memorandum opinion and order dismissing the Blueacorn defendants (Apr. 11, 2022)
- N.D. Tex. No. 3:21-cv-02636, Doc. 111: memorandum opinion and order granting Womply leave to replead its claims against the Blueacorn defendants (July 20, 2022)
- Oto Analytics, Inc. d/b/a Womply v. Capital Plus Financial, LLC, N.D. Tex. No. 3:21-cv-02636-B (case page)
- N.D. Tex. No. 3:21-cv-02636, Doc. 156: order of dismissal with prejudice (Jan. 5, 2023). We do not have a copy.
Fin Cap and Blueacorn PPP v. PayNerd
- Court
- Delaware Superior Court (Complex Commercial Litigation Division), No. N21C-12-118
- Dates
- Filed December 23, 2021; pending at April 3, 2025
- Parties
- Fin Cap, Inc. and Blueacorn PPP, LLC v. PayNerd LLC, PayNerdier LLC, Matthew Mandell and Taylor Hendricksen; PayNerd’s counterclaims and third-party claims name Fin Cap, Blueacorn, Nathan Reis, Noah Spirakus and Barry Calhoun.
- Claims
- Blueacorn’s lawyers told Congress the suit sought “to recover at least $175 million in payments it made to its principal provider of marketing services” (Blueacorn letter of Feb. 4, 2022, n. 1). PayNerd’s counterclaims, filed December 21, 2022, allege breach of contract and fraudulent inducement. All are allegations.
- Outcome
- November 3, 2022: after a motion to dismiss, five of Blueacorn’s counts remain. August 16, 2023: PayNerd’s fraudulent-inducement and contract counterclaims survive, and Reis’s motion to dismiss is denied (opinion; Court of Chancery opinion). Still pending on April 3, 2025, when Blueacorn told the Arizona court it was “presently in litigation with PayNerd” (application, para. 13). As of: Blueacorn’s application, Apr. 3, 2025.
- Not yet seen
- We do not have the docket after 2024, so we do not know whether the court has ruled on the reserve.
- Record
- Fin Cap Inc. v. PayNerd LLC, Del. Super. C.A. No. N21C-12-118 MMJ CCLD, opinion (Aug. 16, 2023)
- Blueacorn PPP, LLC v. Pay Nerd LLC, Del. Ch. C.A. No. 2023-0414-MMJ, opinion (Jan. 29, 2024; unsealed Feb. 8, 2024)
- House Select Subcommittee on the Coronavirus Crisis, Blueacorn documents (letters of Jan. 12 and Feb. 4, 2022)
- Fin Cap Incorporated v. Capital Plus Financial LLC, D. Ariz. No. 2:25-cv-01122, Doc. 1: Blueacorn’s application for confirmation of arbitration award (Apr. 3, 2025)
Blueacorn PPP v. Pay Nerd, negligent misrepresentation
- Court
- Delaware Court of Chancery, No. 2023-0414-MMJ
- Dates
- Opinion January 29, 2024; the filing date and later events are not in our copies
- Parties
- Blueacorn PPP, LLC v. Pay Nerd LLC, Paynerdier LLC, Matthew Mandell and Taylor Hendricksen.
- Claims
- The negligent-misrepresentation count from the Superior Court case, which only the Court of Chancery can hear; the same judge sits in both.
- Outcome
- Motion to dismiss denied January 29, 2024 (unsealed February 8, 2024) (opinion). As of: opinion, Jan. 29, 2024.
- Not yet seen
- The filing date and later docket are not in our copies.
- Record
Pay Nerd subpoena to Capital Plus’s finance chief
- Court
- 431st District Court, Denton County, Texas, No. 24-4384-431
- Dates
- Filed May 16, 2024; last event May 28, 2024
- Parties
- Pay Nerd LLC (petitioner), under a commission from the Delaware Superior Court; witness Farzana Giga, chief financial officer of Capital Plus and Crossroads (YXS complaint, para. 29).
- Claims
- Petition for a Texas subpoena in aid of the Delaware case.
- Outcome
- Subpoena served on Giga May 20, 2024 and returned served May 28, 2024. As of: register, retrieved July 7, 2026.
- Not yet seen
- We do not have the petition or the commission.
- Record
- Pay Nerd LLC, petition for issuance of subpoena, 431st District Court, Denton County, Texas, No. 24-4384-431, register of actions. We do not have the filings.
- YXS Investments, Inc. v. Capital Plus Financial, LLC, N.D. Tex. No. 4:24-cv-00664-P, Doc. 1: complaint (July 17, 2024)
Bank
Fin Cap v. JPMorgan Chase Bank
- Court
- Maricopa County Superior Court, Arizona, No. CV2021-054011
- Dates
- Filed November 10, 2021; last event December 21, 2021
- Parties
- Fin Cap Inc (plaintiff) v. JPMorgan Chase Bank, N.A.
- Claims
- The register does not state the claims.
- Outcome
- Notice of voluntary dismissal filed December 21, 2021. As of: register retrieved Sept. 27, 2026.
- Not yet seen
- The complaint is on the clerk’s paid system; we do not have it.
- Record
Not charted
- A Nevada case captioned Fin Cap Inc. v. Pay Nerd LLC (Clark County District Court No. A-24-891783-C). We have not been able to read its register or any filing, so it is not charted.
- Criminal cases against Blueacorn’s founders are on the profiles of Nathan Reis and Stephanie Hockridge.
The money behind the Capital Plus cases: What Capital Plus owed in December 2022, line by line and Blueacorn won against Capital Plus; the arbitrator said $19.8 million should go to PayNerd. Download the matters: matters.csv.
Sources
- Reis and Hockridge v. Spirakus, Maricopa County Superior Court No. CV2021-010252, register of actions (retrieved Sept. 27, 2026)
- House Select Subcommittee on the Coronavirus Crisis, “We Are Not the Fraud Police” (Dec. 1, 2022)
- YXS Investments, Inc. v. Capital Plus Financial, LLC, N.D. Tex. No. 4:24-cv-00664-P, Doc. 1: complaint (July 17, 2024)
- YXS Investments, Inc. v. Capital Plus Financial, LLC, N.D. Tex. No. 4:24-cv-00664-P, docket on CourtListener. The free entries end before the case closed.
- Fin Cap Incorporated v. Capital Plus Financial LLC, D. Ariz. No. 2:25-cv-01122, Doc. 1: Blueacorn’s application for confirmation of arbitration award (Apr. 3, 2025)
- Crossroads Impact Corp., audited consolidated financial statements, fiscal years ended Oct. 31, 2023 and 2022
- Fin Cap, Inc. v. Capital Plus Financial LLC, 352nd District Court, Tarrant County, Texas, No. 352-341122-23: Blueacorn’s application for prejudgment writs of attachment and garnishment, with the Calhoun affidavit and exhibits (file-stamped Mar. 23, 2023). We do not have a court copy.
- D. Ariz. No. 2:25-cv-01122, Doc. 15: stipulated notice of lodging agreed form of order (May 20, 2025)
- D. Ariz. No. 2:25-cv-01122, Doc. 16: order confirming the Final Award (May 21, 2025)
- D. Ariz. No. 2:25-cv-01122, Doc. 18: amended clerk’s judgment (May 21, 2025)
- BA PPP Fin, LLC v. Prestamos CDFI, LLC, Maricopa County Superior Court No. CV2026-001079, register of actions (retrieved Sept. 27, 2026)
- N.D. Tex. No. 3:21-cv-02636, notice of removal (Oct. 25, 2021)
- N.D. Tex. No. 3:21-cv-02636, Doc. 20: Womply’s First Amended Complaint (Dec. 23, 2021)
- N.D. Tex. No. 3:21-cv-02636, Doc. 68: memorandum opinion and order dismissing the Blueacorn defendants (Apr. 11, 2022)
- N.D. Tex. No. 3:21-cv-02636, Doc. 111: memorandum opinion and order granting Womply leave to replead its claims against the Blueacorn defendants (July 20, 2022)
- Oto Analytics, Inc. d/b/a Womply v. Capital Plus Financial, LLC, N.D. Tex. No. 3:21-cv-02636-B (case page)
- N.D. Tex. No. 3:21-cv-02636, Doc. 156: order of dismissal with prejudice (Jan. 5, 2023). We do not have a copy.
- Fin Cap Inc. v. PayNerd LLC, Del. Super. C.A. No. N21C-12-118 MMJ CCLD, opinion (Aug. 16, 2023)
- Blueacorn PPP, LLC v. Pay Nerd LLC, Del. Ch. C.A. No. 2023-0414-MMJ, opinion (Jan. 29, 2024; unsealed Feb. 8, 2024)
- House Select Subcommittee on the Coronavirus Crisis, Blueacorn documents (letters of Jan. 12 and Feb. 4, 2022)
- Pay Nerd LLC, petition for issuance of subpoena, 431st District Court, Denton County, Texas, No. 24-4384-431, register of actions. We do not have the filings.
- Fin Cap Inc v. JPMorgan Chase Bank N.A., Maricopa County Superior Court No. CV2021-054011, register of actions (retrieved Sept. 27, 2026)
Each linked document opens our copy’s record page, which links the original where one is public. Documents listed without a link are cited from the filing named; we do not have a copy we can publish.