Pandemic Darlings The pandemic economy, in original documents
Home Court filings The Provider Relief Fund: Frequently Asked Questions (CRS Report R46897) CRS Report R46897 — the Provider Relief Fund: Frequently Asked Questions

Court filing

CRS Report R46897 — the Provider Relief Fund: Frequently Asked Questions

Filed April 7, 2022 in CRS R46897 Provider Relief Fund Faq, the only filing from this case in the archive.

Record facts

CourtCongressional Research Service
Filed2022-04-07

Cited in: The HRSA Uninsured Testing Gold Rush · Provider Relief Fund: The Formula That Paid Medicare First

Full text

The Provider Relief Fund: 
Frequently Asked Questions 
Updated April 7, 2022 
Congressional Research Service 
https://crsreports.congress.gov 
R46897 

 
Congressional Research Service 
 
SUMMARY 
The Provider Relief Fund: 
Frequently Asked Questions 
The Provider Relief Fund (PRF) was established in the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic 
Security Act (CARES Act, P.L. 116-136) to reimburse, through grants or other mechanisms, 
eligible health care providers for increased expenses or lost revenue attributable to Coronavirus 
Disease 2019 (COVID-19). The CARES Act provided $100 billion to prevent, prepare for and 
respond to coronavirus, domestically and internationally. The amounts were subsequently 
increased by $78 billion, with $75 billion added in the Paycheck Protection Program and Health 
Care Enhancement Act (PPPHCEA, P.L. 116-139) and $3 billion in the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2021 (P.L. 116-
260). The latter was the first time the Provider Relief Fund was referred to in statute and required changes to the fund’s 
reporting requirements and requirements for future fund allocations. 
The answers to the frequently asked questions (FAQs) in this report provide overview information on the PRF, how funds 
have been allocated, and the fund’s requirements for provider reporting. In addition, this report describes the use of the PRF 
to pay providers for providing COVID-19 testing, treatment, and vaccines to uninsured individuals and the use of the fund to 
pay providers for costs associated with vaccinating individuals who are underinsured (e.g., who do not have insurance that 
covers vaccine administration). 
R46897 
April 7, 2022 
Elayne J. Heisler 
Specialist in Health 
Services 
  
 

The Provider Relief Fund: Frequently Asked Questions 
 
Congressional Research Service 
 
Contents 
Fund Overview Questions ............................................................................................................... 1 
What Is the Provider Relief Fund? ............................................................................................ 1 
Do Providers Have to Repay Their PRF Funds? ....................................................................... 2 
What Type of Health Providers Are Eligible for the Fund? ...................................................... 2 
How Much Was Appropriated to the Fund? .............................................................................. 2 
What Agency Administers the Fund? ........................................................................................ 2 
What Data Are Available on the Fund? ..................................................................................... 3 
Fund Allocation Questions .............................................................................................................. 3 
How Has Funding Been Allocated? .......................................................................................... 3 
General Distributions .......................................................................................................... 3 
Targeted Distributions ......................................................................................................... 6 
What Is the Difference Between General and Targeted Distributions? ..................................... 7 
What Information Is Known About Returned Funds?............................................................... 7 
What Are Some Potential Drawbacks of the Methodology that HHS Used to 
Distribute Funds? ................................................................................................................... 7 
How Are Allocations Determined? ........................................................................................... 8 
What Is the Relationship Between the Provider Relief Fund, the Uninsured Fund, and 
the Coverage Assistance Fund? .............................................................................................. 9 
What Is the Relationship Between the PRF and the American Rescue Plan Funding 
for Rural Providers? ............................................................................................................. 10 
What Other Purposes Have the PRF Funds Been Used For? ................................................... 11 
Provider Requirements ................................................................................................................... 11 
What Must Providers Do to Receive Funds? ........................................................................... 11 
What Requirements Apply to Providers Receiving PRF Funds? ............................................ 12 
What Must Providers Report After Receiving Funds? ............................................................ 12 
Who Is Responsible for Reporting on PRF Funds? ................................................................ 13 
Can Providers Refuse or Return Funds? ................................................................................. 14 
Agency Requirements ................................................................................................................... 14 
What Are HHS Reporting Requirements for the Fund? .......................................................... 14 
 
Contacts 
Author Information ........................................................................................................................ 14 
 

The Provider Relief Fund: Frequently Asked Questions 
 
Congressional Research Service  
 
1 
he Provider Relief Fund (PRF) was established in the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and 
Economic Security Act (CARES Act, P.L. 116-136), which provided $100 billion to 
reimburse health care providers for increased expenses or lost revenue attributable to 
Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19). The amounts were subsequently increased by $78 
billion, with $75 billion appropriated in the Paycheck Protection Program and Health Care 
Enhancement Act (PPPHCEA, P.L. 116-139) and $3 billion appropriated in the Consolidated 
Appropriations Act, 2021 (P.L. 116-260). The latter law was the first time the Provider Relief 
Fund was referred to in statute and required changes to the fund’s reporting requirements and 
requirements for future fund allocations. 
The answers to the frequently asked questions (FAQs) below provide overview information on 
the fund, how funds have been allocated, and the fund’s requirements for provider reporting. Data 
on the fund are publicly available and updated regularly as new funds are released or as entities 
return funds.1 Due to ongoing data updates, this report does not include information on amounts 
remaining;2 however, agency data are available for download and can be used to examine the 
amounts that remain in the fund and the amount that a particular entity or state received, among 
other things.  
Fund Overview Questions  
What Is the Provider Relief Fund?  
The CARES Act appropriated $100 billion to “to prevent, prepare for, and respond to 
coronavirus, domestically or internationally, for necessary expenses to reimburse, through grants 
or other mechanisms, eligible health care providers for health care related expenses or lost 
revenues that are attributable to coronavirus.”3 These funds were appropriated to the Public 
Health and Social Services Emergency Fund (PHSSEF), a flexible funding source within the  
Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). The fund was later termed the “Provider 
Relief Fund.” The language did not specify an administering entity for the fund. HHS elected to 
have the fund administered by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA). HRSA 
is also administering the Uninsured Fund and the Coverage Assistance Fund, both of which are 
using an unspecified amount of the PRF to pay providers (see “What Is the Relationship Between 
the Provider Relief Fund, the Uninsured Fund, and the Coverage Assistance Fund?”).  
                                                 
1 U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), “CARES Act Provider Relief Fund: Data,” 
https://www.hhs.gov/coronavirus/cares-act-provider-relief-fund/data/index.html#fifty-billion-targeted-allocations. Note 
that these data include amounts appropriated to the Provider Relief Fund (PRF) in the three laws. To download these 
data, go to https://data.cdc.gov/Administrative/HHS-Provider-Relief-Fund/kh8y-3es6.  
2 One news report suggests that all PRF funds have been allocated; however, this information has not been confirmed. 
As discussed in this CRS report, PRF funds may be returned from earlier allocations and some payment amounts are 
being reconsidered. For the news report that all funds have been allocated, see Rachel Cohrs, “The Biden 
Administration Used Billions in Hospital COVID-19 Funds to Pay Drug Makers,” Stat, January 26, 2022, 
https://www.statnews.com/2022/01/26/the-biden-administration-used-billions-in-hospital-covid-19-funds-to-pay-
drugmakers/. 
3 P.L. 116-136, 134 STAT. 563. 
T 

The Provider Relief Fund: Frequently Asked Questions 
 
Congressional Research Service  
 
2 
Do Providers Have to Repay Their PRF Funds?  
PRF funds are grants and do not have to be repaid.4 Providers must attest to receiving these funds 
and comply with the applicable terms and conditions of the PRF (see “What Requirements Apply 
to Providers Receiving PRF Funds?”).  
What Type of Health Providers Are Eligible for the Fund?  
The CARES Act provided funds for lost revenue and defined eligible providers as follows: 
“public entities, Medicare or Medicaid enrolled suppliers and providers, and such for-profit 
entities and not-for-profit entities not otherwise described in this proviso as the Secretary may 
specify, within the United States (including territories), that provide diagnoses, testing, or care for 
individuals with possible or actual cases of COVID-19.”5 In these provisions, “the Secretary” 
refers to the HHS Secretary. Allocations from the fund have included both specific types of 
providers (e.g., nursing homes) and providers that bill specific programs (e.g., Medicare Fee-for-
Service).6  
How Much Was Appropriated to the Fund?  
A total of $178 billion was appropriated to the fund across three laws, as follows:  
 
$100 billion in the CARES Act, 
 
$75 billion in the PPPHCEA , and  
 
$3 billion in the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2021.  
These funds were appropriated through the Public Health and Social Services Emergency Fund as 
emergency-designated discretionary appropriations and remain available until they are expended.  
What Agency Administers the Fund?  
The CARES Act did not specify an administering entity within HHS. HHS elected to have the 
fund administered by HRSA. HRSA is also administering two companion funds: (1) the 
Uninsured Program,7 which includes an unspecified amount allocated from the CARES 
appropriation to the PRF (see “What Is the Relationship Between the Provider Relief Fund, the 
Uninsured Fund, and the Coverage Assistance Fund?”), and (2) the COVID-19 Coverage 
Assistance Fund, which covers the administrative costs for patients who have insurance, but 
whose insurance does not cover vaccine administrative cost fees or has cost sharing for these 
fees.8 
                                                 
4 This contrasts with the Medicare Accelerated and Advance Payment Program, in which providers received Medicare 
payments in advance of providing and billing for these services to Medicare beneficiaries. For more information, see 
CRS Report R46698, Medicare Accelerated and Advance Payments and COVID-19: Frequently Asked Questions.  
5 P.L. 116-136, 134 STAT. 563. 
6 See information about targeted distributions and general distributions at HHS, “CARES Act Provider Relief Fund: 
General Information,” https://www.hhs.gov/coronavirus/cares-act-provider-relief-fund/general-information/index.html.  
7 Formally, this is termed the “COVID-19 Claims Reimbursement to Health Care Providers and Facilities for Testing, 
Treatment, and Vaccine Administration for the Uninsured”; see HHS, Health Resources and Services Administration 
(HRSA), “COVID-19 Claims Reimbursement to Health Care Providers and Facilities for Testing, Treatment, and 
Vaccine Administration for the Uninsured,” https://www.hrsa.gov/coviduninsuredclaim. 
8 HHS, HRSA, “COVID-19 Coverage Assistance Fund,” https://www.hrsa.gov/covid19-coverage-assistance.  

The Provider Relief Fund: Frequently Asked Questions 
 
Congressional Research Service  
 
3 
What Data Are Available on the Fund? 
HHS makes data on the fund publicly available and updates the data regularly as new funds are 
distributed or as entities return funds.9 Data are available for download and can be used to 
examine the amounts that remain in the fund and the amount that a particular entity or state 
received, among other things. The data that HHS provide on payments are limited to provider 
name, state, city, and payment amount. This tends to limit the ability to analyze data by provider 
type (e.g., evaluate how much money hospitals received). Analysts may find that such data cannot 
be reliably merged with other data sets (e.g., Medicare provider data) because the variation in 
entity names (e.g., capitalization) makes it difficult to accurately merge data. 
Fund Allocation Questions  
How Has Funding Been Allocated?  
In statute, the HHS Secretary had broad authority to determine how the PRF would be allocated. 
HHS has chosen to allocate funds in two ways: (1) general, which are available to a broad group 
of providers, and (2) targeted distributions, which have more restrictive eligibility general aimed 
at providing funds to a facility type with high needs (e.g., nursing homes). The two types are 
described in more detail below.  
General Distributions 
HHS has made four general distributions. Parts of the fourth general distribution were released in 
December 2021 and January 2022.10  
Phase One  
The first, Phase One, was a general allocation distributed to health care providers that billed 
Medicare Fee-for-Service.11 This distribution occurred because the federal government paid those 
providers directly and therefore had the ability to provide funds quickly to those entities. Entities 
did not need to apply for these funds. The CARES Act, enacted on March 27, 2020, established 
the PRF; Phase One funding began on April 10, 2020. Initially, HRSA intended to provide $50 
billion through this allocation; however, when accounting for returned funds, the total amount 
provided was $42.8 billion. For this allocation, HRSA allocated $30 billion to providers based on 
the provider’s Medicare Fee-for-Service payments in 2018 and allocated an additional $20 billion 
                                                 
9 To download these data, go to https://data.cdc.gov/Administrative/HHS-Provider-Relief-Fund/kh8y-3es6. 
10 HHS, “HHS is Releasing $9 Billion Provider Relief Fund Payments to Support Health Care Providers Affected by 
the COVID-19 Pandemic,” press release, December 14, 2021, https://www.hhs.gov/about/news/2021/12/14/hhs-
releasing-9-billion-in-prf-payments-to-support-providers-affected-by-covid-19.html, and HHS, “HHS is Distributing $2 
Billion More in Provider Relief Fund Payments to Health Care providers Impacted by the COVID-19 Pandemic,” press 
release, January 25, 2022, https://www.hhs.gov/about/news/2022/01/25/hhs-distributing-2-billion-more-provider-relief-
fund-payments-health-care-providers-impacted-covid-19-pandemic.html.  
11 For more information about the various components of the Medicare program, see CRS Report R40425, Medicare 
Primer. For information about specific dollar amounts and where the distributions were drawn from, see HHS, HRSA, 
“Provider Relief Fund Past Payments: Past General Distributions,” https://www.hrsa.gov/provider-relief/past-
payments/general-distribution, and U.S. Government Accountability Office, COVID-19: Additional Actions Needed to 
Improve Accountability and Program Effectiveness of Federal Response, 21-105051, October 27, 2021, p. Appendix 8, 
https://files.gao.gov/reports/GAO-22-105051/index.html#appendix8. 

The Provider Relief Fund: Frequently Asked Questions 
 
Congressional Research Service  
 
4 
to these providers based on annual gross receipts in the most recent tax year available. The 
allocation of $20 billion took into account the amounts that providers had already received from 
the $30 billion allocation. Phase One payments were available only to providers that billed 
Medicare Fee-for-Service in 2018; as such, some safety-net and other provider types that serve 
Medicaid and uninsured populations were either ineligible for this allocation or received lower 
amounts because of this methodology.  
Phase Two 
Phase 2 targeted Medicaid, CHIP, and dental providers and included assisted living facilities.12 
The allocation as announced was to provide $18 billion to providers that were not included in 
Phase 1 of the general distribution. These providers received an amount equal to 2% of the 
provider’s total patient care revenue. Phase 2 funds began in June and required that providers 
applying for funding include in their applications certain financial information related to 
documenting revenue necessary to determine the amount that a facility would receive.13 Because 
HRSA did not receive sufficient eligible applicants, the full $18 billion was not allocated; instead, 
a total of $5.09 billion was allocated to 103,449 providers during this distribution.14  
Phase Three 
Phase 3 targeted providers that had not received funding in prior distributions (i.e., because they 
were new or because they were behavioral health providers not included in a prior allocation). 
Providers that had previously received funding but had not received the full 2% of patient 
revenue in PRF assistance were also eligible to apply for additional funds, and could receive up to 
2% of patient revenue. This limit resulted in approximately one-third of providers who applied 
not receiving Phase 3 funds.15 A total of $24.5 billion was available in this distribution, and HHS 
began distributing these funds in November 2020 and distributed more than three-quarters of 
funding in 2020.16 As of November 22, 2021, HRSA had allocated $21.36 billion through this 
allocation to 65,367 providers.17  
HRSA also permitted entities to have the amounts they received in Phase 3 to be reconsidered in 
the fall of 2021. The agency announced a reconsideration process with applications that were due 
November 12, 2021.18 In its guidance for payment reconsideration, HRSA detailed the 
                                                 
12 Medicare Fee-for-Service does not include dental benefits. As such, dentists generally do not bill the Medicare 
program. Some Medicare Advantage plans (i.e., managed care plans) may include these benefits as an optional service. 
Some assisted living facilities provide personal care and other types of services not covered by Medicare. These 
facilities, like other types of residential facilities, may have incurred additional expenses related to COVID-19 (e.g., for 
enhanced cleaning and personal protective equipment for staff).  
13 See HHS, https://www.hhs.gov/sites/default/files/provider-distribution-instructions-phase-2.pdf.  
14 Information on specific dollar values in given distributions were drawn from HHS, HRSA, “Provider Relief Fund 
Past Payments: Past General Distributions,” https://www.hrsa.gov/provider-relief/past-payments/general-distribution, 
and U.S. Government Accountability Office, COVID-19: Additional Actions Needed to Improve Accountability and 
Program Effectiveness of Federal Response, 21-105051, October 27, 2021, p. Appendix 8, https://files.gao.gov/reports/
GAO-22-105051/index.html#appendix8. 
15 HHS, “Provide Relief Fund Phase 3: Payment Calculation Methodology,” https://www.hrsa.gov/sites/default/files/
hrsa/provider-relief/phase-3-methodology-overview.pdf, p. 4.  
16 HHS, “Provide Relief Fund Phase 3: Payment Calculation Methodology,” https://www.hrsa.gov/sites/default/files/
hrsa/provider-relief/phase-3-methodology-overview.pdf, p. 1. 
17 HHS, HRSA, “Provider Relief Fund Past Payments: Past General Distributions,” https://www.hrsa.gov/provider-
relief/past-payments/general-distribution. 
18 HHS, “Provide Relief Fund: Phase 3 Payment Reconsideration,” https://www.hrsa.gov/provider-relief/payment-

The Provider Relief Fund: Frequently Asked Questions 
 
Congressional Research Service  
 
5 
methodology used to distribute payments and how it identified entities that may have been 
outliers in terms of reporting lost revenue. The guidance directed providers to review this 
methodology and submit an online form if the entity believed its payment amount was incorrect.19 
Phase Four 
Phase 4 provides $17 billion for providers’ lost revenue and COVID-19-related expenses incurred 
between July 1, 2020, and March 3, 2021.20 As of March 2022, HHS has released $12 billion of 
the $17 billion allocated.21 These funds were released in phases: an initial $9 billion was released 
in December 2021,22 $2 billion was released in January 2022,23 $560 million was released in 
February 2022, and $413 million was released in March.24 HHS notes that it has processed more 
than 80% of the applications received for Phase 4. The remaining applications require additional 
review.25 Given outstanding applications that may be eligible for payment, additional Phase 4 
funds may be released in the future. Payments are being provided in accordance with the 
requirements in the Consolidated Appropriations Act, which required that  
not less than 85% of (i) the unobligated balances available as the date of enactment of this 
Act, and (ii) any funds recovered from health care providers after the date of enactment of 
this Act, shall be for any successor to the Phase 3 General Distribution allocation to make 
payments to eligible health care providers based on applications that consider financial 
losses and changes in operating expenses occurring in the third or fourth quarter of calendar 
year 2020, or the first quarter of calendar year 2021, that are attributable to coronavirus.26  
This distribution is providing less than the 85% required in the law. HHS is also using Phase 4 to 
reimburse smaller providers that have lower operating margins and serve vulnerable communities 
at higher rates. It is also providing bonus payments to providers that serve Medicaid, CHIP, or 
                                                 
reconsideration.  
19 HHS, “Provider Relief Fund Phase 3: Payment Calculation Methodology,” https://www.hrsa.gov/sites/default/files/
hrsa/provider-relief/phase-3-methodology-overview.pdf. 
20 HHS, “HHS Announces the Availability of $25.5 Billion in COVID-19 Provider Funding,” press release, September 
10, 2021, https://www.hhs.gov/about/news/2021/09/10/hhs-announces-the-availability-of-25-point-5-billion-in-covid-
19-provider-funding.html. 
21 HHS, “HHS Distributing an Additional $413 Million in Provider Relief Fund Payments to Health Care Providers 
Affected by the COVID-19 Pandemic,” press release, March 22, 2022, https://www.hhs.gov/about/news/2022/03/22/
hhs-distributing-additional-413-million-provider-relief-fund-payments-health-care-providers-impacted-by-covid-19-
pandemic.html.  
22 HHS, “HHS is Releasing $9 Billion Provider Relief Fund Payments to Support Health Care Providers Affected by 
the COVID-19 Pandemic,” press release, December 14, 2021, https://www.hhs.gov/about/news/2021/12/14/hhs-
releasing-9-billion-in-prf-payments-to-support-providers-affected-by-covid-19.html.  
23 HHS, “HHS is Distributing $2 Billion More in Provider Relief Fund Payments to Health Care providers Impacted by 
the COVID-19 Pandemic,” press release, January 25, 2022, https://www.hhs.gov/about/news/2022/01/25/hhs-
distributing-2-billion-more-provider-relief-fund-payments-health-care-providers-impacted-covid-19-pandemic.html.  
24  HHS, “HHS Distributing $560 Million in Provider Relief Fund Payments to Health Care Providers Affected by the 
COVID-19 Pandemic,” press release, February 24, 2022, https://www.hhs.gov/about/news/2022/02/24/hhs-
distributing-560-million-provider-relief-fund-payments-health-care-providers-affected-covid-19-pandemic.html; and 
HHS, “HHS Distributing an Additional $413 Million in Provider Relief Fund Payments to Health Care Providers 
Affected by the COVID-19 Pandemic,” press release, March 22, 2022, https://www.hhs.gov/about/news/2022/03/22/
hhs-distributing-additional-413-million-provider-relief-fund-payments-health-care-providers-impacted-by-covid-19-
pandemic.html. 
25 HHS, “Provider Relief Fund: Current and Future Payments: Phase 4 and APR Rural Distributions,” 
https://www.hrsa.gov/provider-relief/future-payments. 
26 P.L. 116-260, 134 STAT. 1920.  

The Provider Relief Fund: Frequently Asked Questions 
 
Congressional Research Service  
 
6 
Medicare populations with lower incomes and more complex medical needs.27 HHS announced 
that PRF Phase 4 payments have two components: a base payment and a bonus payment. The 
base payment will be allocated to providers based on their change in revenue and expenses from 
July 1, 2020, to March 31, 2021 (the third and fourth quarter 2020 and the first quarter of 2021). 
HHS is allocating 75% of the Phase 4 allocation (i.e., $12.75 billion) as base payments and is to 
provide relatively higher percentages to small and medium size providers. The remaining 25% of 
the Phase 4 allocation (i.e., $4.25 billion) is being allocated as bonus payments based on 
provider’s Medicare, Medicaid, and CHIP participation.28 Applicants are required to verify their 
Tax ID Numbers (TIN) and use specified methodology to calculate their initial loss ratios. HRSA 
is calculating loss ratios by provider types and flagging outliers for additional review. It is also 
providing additional review to pharmacies and durable medical equipment suppliers.29  
Targeted Distributions  
HHS also allocated PRF funds to certain types of providers in 2020 that had high needs due to 
COVID-19.30 These included the following:  
 
Hospitals with large numbers of COVID-19 admissions (total of $20.69 billion in 
two rounds). In May 2020, the PRF provided $10 billion to 395 hospitals that had 
more than 100 COVID-19-related admissions and in July provided funds to 1,129 
hospitals with one COVID-19 admission per day or a disproportionate intensity 
of COVID admissions. 
 
Skilled nursing facilities and nursing homes. The fund provided funds to nursing 
homes at various points in 2020. It provided $5.0 billion in May 2020 to more 
than 15,000 facilities. It provided an additional $2.25 billion in August for 
increased testing, staffing, and personal protective equipment (PPE) needs. These 
facilities were also eligible to receive $2 billion in incentive payments in October 
and December of 2020.  
 
Facilities funded by the Indian Health Service (IHS, including those operated by 
Indian Tribes, Tribal Organizations, and Urban Indian Organizations). The PRF 
provided $520 million in May 2020 to 319 IHS-funded health facilities. 
 
Safety Net Hospitals. The fund provided $13.07 billion in June to 899 hospitals 
that met certain criteria based on their patient mix, the amount of uncompensated 
care they provided, or their profit margin.  
 
Rural providers (including rural health clinics, rural community health centers, 
rural acute care hospitals, critical access hospitals, urban hospitals with certain 
                                                 
27 HHS, “HHS Announces the Availability of $25.5 Billion in COVID-19 Provider Funding,” press release, September 
10, 2021, https://www.hhs.gov/about/news/2021/09/10/hhs-announces-the-availability-of-25-point-5-billion-in-covid-
19-provider-funding.html. 
28 HRSA, “HRSA Provider Relief Fund – Phase 4 and American Rescue Plan (ARP) Rural Distribution Revenue 
Application Instructions, Payment Methodology” https://www.hrsa.gov/provider-relief/future-payments/phase-4-arp-
rural/payment-methodology. 
29 Ibid. 
30 For information on targeted distributions, see HHS, “Provider Relief Fund: Provider Relief Fund Past Payments, Past 
Targeted Distributions, https://www.hrsa.gov/provider-relief/past-payments/targeted-distribution and U.S. Government 
Accountability Office, COVID-19: Additional Actions Needed to Improve Accountability and Program Effectiveness of 
Federal Response, 21-105051, October 27, 2021, p. Appendix 8, https://files.gao.gov/reports/GAO-22-105051/
index.html#appendix8. 

The Provider Relief Fund: Frequently Asked Questions 
 
Congressional Research Service  
 
7 
rural Medicare designations,31 and hospitals in small metropolitan areas. The 
PRF provided a total of $10.99 billion to 4,300 rural facilities in May 2020.  
 
Children’s hospitals. The fund provided $1.06 billion in August to 66 free-
standing children hospitals as defined by Medicare or hospitals that were eligible 
for HRSA’s Children’s Hospital GME program.32 These hospitals generally have 
low Medicare FFS payments, so they may not have received funding as part of 
the first general distribution.  
What Is the Difference Between General and Targeted 
Distributions?  
All providers who meet the criteria (e.g., bill Medicare) are eligible for a general distribution. To 
be eligible for targeted distribution, providers have to meet additional criteria (e.g., have a high 
number of COVID-19 inpatients). HHS awarded funds in general allocations to all types of health 
providers, with the total amount intended to equal 2% of an entity’s patient revenues. HHS also 
made awards to certain types of health providers that had high needs. Providers are eligible under 
both types of allocations. 
What Information Is Known About Returned Funds? 
Providers generally have to register and submit the required information to receive PRF funds 
(with the exception of Phase 1, which was provided without application to Medicare Fee-for-
Service providers). Providers, however, do not have to accept the funds they receive from the 
PRF. They can return funds for a variety of reasons. These include funds that were not needed or 
that the amount was incorrect and the entity returns the original amount while expecting the 
correct amount to be issued. HRSA’s data are not sufficient to determine a reason for return; 
however, HRSA estimated that $8.8 billion has been returned to the agency.33 Nearly three-
quarters of the funds returned were from the Phase One general allocation that was based on the 
provider’s Medicare fee-for-service payments.34  
What Are Some Potential Drawbacks of the Methodology that HHS 
Used to Distribute Funds?  
HHS awarded PRF funds to providers in amounts that were equal to 2% of a provider’s patient 
revenue. This amount was cumulative and could have been received through multiple 
distributions. The use of patient revenue as a metric has been critiqued by some, because it may 
favor providers with a higher percentage of their revenue coming from privately insured 
patients—a result of private insurers paying providers higher rates than those paid by Medicare 
                                                 
31 For information on these designations, see CRS Infographic IG10023, Medicare Payment for Rural or 
Geographically Isolated Hospitals, 2021.  
32 For information on this program, see CRS Report R45067, Children’s Hospitals Graduate Medical Education 
(CHGME).  
33 This information was drawn from U.S. Government Accountability Office, COVID-19: Additional Actions Needed to 
Improve Accountability and Program Effectiveness of Federal Response, 21-105051, October 27, 2021, p. Appendix 8, 
https://files.gao.gov/reports/GAO-22-105051/index.html#appendix8. 
34 Ibid. 

The Provider Relief Fund: Frequently Asked Questions 
 
Congressional Research Service  
 
8 
and Medicaid.35 For example, the Medicaid and CHIP Payment Access Commission (MACPAC) 
found that Medicaid and CHIP providers tend to receive less from the fund because Medicaid 
providers generally had lower revenue. The commission also found that some providers that were 
not Medicare providers did not receive payments from the PRF.36 In addition to these findings, 
news articles have indicated that access to PRF grants has contributed to surpluses for some large 
hospital systems.37  
The fourth general distribution is providing additional funding to smaller providers and to 
Medicaid/CHIP/Medicare providers that serve vulnerable populations. The Biden Administration 
stated that this methodology is part of its commitment to equity and to equity for providers that 
serve more vulnerable populations, such as low-income children.38As noted above, providers that 
serve more vulnerable populations may have fewer privately insured patients, which may result in 
lower revenue for these facilities because private insurers generally pay providers at higher rates 
than do payers such as Medicaid and CHIP. These providers may also serve more people who are 
uninsured.  
How Are Allocations Determined?  
HHS determined the amount that it would allocate to both targeted and general distributions. The 
initial statute that created the PRF (the CARES Act) and the subsequent statute that increased 
funding (PPPHCEA) did not require funds to be allocated in a specific manner. The Consolidated 
Appropriations Act, 2021, enacted in December 2020, required that not less than 85% of the 
unobligated balance of the PRF (including amounts that are returned to the PRF) be used for an 
allocation that follows the Phase 3 general allocation. It also specified that for that allocation, 
revenue must be calculated considering financial losses in the last quarter of 2020 or the first 
quarter of 2021 that are attributable to the coronavirus. The Phase 4 distribution was announced 
on September 10, 2021, with the applicant portal available September 29, 2021.39 The Phase 4 
allocation was $17 billion; using the Government Accountability Office’s (GAO’s) estimates of 
PRF funds allocated as of August 31, 2021, that amount represented 70.8% of funds remaining in 
the PRF.40 HRSA told GAO that remaining funds were reserved for “future contingencies and 
emerging needs.”41 In fall 2021, HRSA also announced that providers could have their Phase 3 
amount reconsidered; as such, some unallocated funds may be used for that purpose.42 In 
                                                 
35 Karyn Schwartz and Tricia Neuman, Funding for Health Care Providers During the Pandemic: An Update, Kaiser 
Family Foundation, Washington, DC, April 20, 2021, https://www.kff.org/policy-watch/funding-for-health-care-
providers-during-the-pandemic-an-update/. 
36 MACPAC, COVID Relief Funding for Medicaid Providers, Washington, DC, January 2021, 
https://www.macpac.gov/wp-content/uploads/2021/02/COVID-Relief-Funding-for-Medicaid-Providers.pdf. 
37 Alexandra Ellerbeck, “The Health 202: Pandemic Relief Funds Boosted Surpluses for Some Large Hospitals,” June 
21, 2021, https://www.washingtonpost.com/politics/2021/06/21/health-202-pandemic-relief-funds-boosted-surpluses-
some-large-hospitals/. 
38 HHS, “HHS Announces the Availability of $25.5 Billion in COVID-19 Provider Funding,” press release, September 
10, 2021, https://www.hhs.gov/about/news/2021/09/10/hhs-announces-the-availability-of-25-point-5-billion-in-covid-
19-provider-funding.html. 
39 Ibid. 
40 U.S. Government Accountability Office, COVID-19: Additional Actions Needed to Improve Accountability and 
Program Effectiveness of Federal Response, 21-105051, October 27, 2021, p. Appendix 8, https://files.gao.gov/reports/
GAO-22-105051/index.html#appendix8. 
41 Ibid, table note e.  
42 HHS, “Provide Relief Fund: Phase 3 Payment Reconsideration,” https://www.hrsa.gov/provider-relief/payment-
reconsideration.  

The Provider Relief Fund: Frequently Asked Questions 
 
Congressional Research Service  
 
9 
addition, HHS has also reportedly used $7 billion of PRF funds to acquire COVID-19 vaccines 
and therapeutics.43 
What Is the Relationship Between the Provider Relief Fund, the 
Uninsured Fund, and the Coverage Assistance Fund?  
HHS is using a portion of the PRF appropriation to pay providers for treatment provided to 
uninsured individuals because no other funding was appropriated for this purpose. The Uninsured 
Fund has two components: (1) a total of $2 billion appropriated in the Families First Coronavirus 
Response Act (P.L. 116-127)44 and PPPHCEA for uninsured testing and (2) an allocation from the 
CARES allocation to the PRF for uninsured treatment and coverage assistance for vaccines. PRF 
funds were not specifically appropriated for either purpose. Instead, in April 2020, the Trump 
Administration announced that it would use an unspecified portion of the CARES allocation to 
the PRF to reimburse providers for COVID-19 treatment provided to uninsured patients.45 
Subsequently, both the Trump Administration and the Biden Administration have clarified that 
this reimbursement will include administrative costs incurred by providers when vaccinating 
uninsured individuals. In addition, the Biden Administration is using the PRF for costs associated 
with vaccinating underinsured individuals through the newly created Coverage Assistance Fund.46 
Though the COVID-19 vaccine is free, providers can charge a third party for administrative costs 
related to provider time, storage, and record keeping, among others.47 Some individuals may not 
have insurance coverage that includes vaccines or may face large out-of-pocket costs associated 
with their insurance plan’s cost sharing for vaccines. The fund reimburses providers for the 
administrative costs associated with vaccinating these individuals.  
HHS has not specified amounts for the uninsured fund or for underinsured vaccine costs. GAO 
estimated that HHS allocated $10 billion for this purpose.48  
Reimbursements are provided on a rolling basis, with eligible claims being paid to providers as 
long as funds remain available. As of March 22, 2022, the fund stopped accepting claims for 
testing and treatment for uninsured individuals because of lack of funding. As of April 5, 2022, 
the fund stopped accepting new vaccination claims because of funding constraints.49 As stated 
above, $2 billion was explicitly appropriated for uninsured testing, and this amount has been 
expended.50 On May 25, 2021, the Biden Administration announced that it was allocating $4.8 
                                                 
43 Rachel Cohrs, “The Biden Administration Used Billions in Hospital COVID-19 Funds to Pay Drug Makers,” Stat, 
January 26, 2022, https://www.statnews.com/2022/01/26/the-biden-administration-used-billions-in-hospital-covid-19-
funds-to-pay-drugmakers/. HHS information confirming this report are not available at the time of this CRS report’s 
publication. It is also unclear whether HHS could cite the acquisition of vaccines and therapeutics as an example of a 
“contingency or an emerging need.” 
44 CRS Report R46316, Health Care Provisions in the Families First Coronavirus Response Act, P.L. 116-127. 
45 CRS Insight IN11526, COVID-19 and the Uninsured: Federal Funding Options to Pay Providers for Testing and 
Treatment.  
46 HHS, HRSA, “COVID-19 Coverage Assistance Fund,” https://www.hrsa.gov/covid19-coverage-assistance. 
47 CRS Insight IN11609, COVID-19 Vaccine: Financing for Its Administration. 
48 U.S. Government Accountability Office, COVID-19: Additional Actions Needed to Improve Accountability and 
Program Effectiveness of Federal Response, 21-105051, October 27, 2021, p. Appendix 8, https://files.gao.gov/reports/
GAO-22-105051/index.html#appendix8. 
49 HHS, HRSA, “COVID-19 Claims Reimbursement to Health Care Providers and Facilities for Testing, Treatment, 
and Vaccine Administration for the Uninsured,” https://www.hrsa.gov/coviduninsuredclaim. 
50 HHS, “HHS COVID-19 Funding: Treatment & Testing of the Uninsured,” https://taggs.hhs.gov/Coronavirus/
Uninsured, and CRS Insight IN11526, COVID-19 and the Uninsured: Federal Funding Options to Pay Providers for 

The Provider Relief Fund: Frequently Asked Questions 
 
Congressional Research Service  
 
10 
billion from the American Rescue Plan Act of 2021 (ARPA, P.L. 117-2) for uninsured testing.51 
These amounts are separate from the PRF; as such, PRF funds are not currently being used for 
uninsured testing. 
HHS is providing regularly updated information on amounts reimbursed from the Uninsured 
Fund at https://taggs.hhs.gov/Coronavirus/Uninsured. Data are also available about the providers 
that receive reimbursements from this fund at https://data.cdc.gov/Administrative/Claims-
Reimbursement-to-Health-Care-Providers-and-/rksx-33p3. These data include the provider’s 
name, city, state, what the claim was paid for (i.e., testing, treatment, or vaccines) and the 
geographic coordinates for the provider’s location. As such, this dataset includes more 
information than is available for the main PRF.  
What Is the Relationship Between the PRF and the American 
Rescue Plan Funding for Rural Providers?  
Section 9911 of ARPA appropriated $8.5 billion for rural providers that bill Medicare and 
Medicaid.52 This funding stream is to be administered in a number of ways that are similar to the 
PRF (e.g., reporting requirements) but is separate from the $178 billion appropriated for the PRF.  
An announcement about the release of these funds and the application procedures was included in 
the September 10, 2021, announcement about the PRF Phase 4 distribution. This distribution 
follows the same timeline, with the applicant portal available September 29, 2021.53 In 
accordance with statute, the funds are available to rural providers that bill Medicare and 
Medicaid. The Biden Administration announced that this distribution will use the Federal Office 
of Rural Health Policy definition of “rural.”54 Like the PRF and Uninsured Funds, the rural fund 
is administered by HRSA.55 
On November 23, 2021, HRSA announced that it began distributing the rural payments to 
providers. Under this distribution, HRSA provided a minimum payment of $500 to providers and 
provided payments to more than 40,000 providers.56 Data on payments provided can be found at 
https://data.cdc.gov/Global-Health/American-Rescue-Plan-ARP-Rural-Payments/8v6a-z6zq.57 
Note that these data include the provider’s name, city, state, and nine-digit zip code. As such, this 
dataset includes more information than what is available for the main PRF.  
                                                 
Testing and Treatment.  
51 HHS, “HHS to Dedicate $4.8 Billion from the American Rescue Plan to COVID19 Testing for the Uninsured,” press 
release, May 25, 2021, https://www.hhs.gov/about/news/2021/05/25/hhs-to-dedicate-billions-from-the-american-
rescue-plan-for-the-uninsured.html. 
52 For information about this funding source, see the “Health Care Infrastructure and Provider Support” section of CRS 
Report R46834, American Rescue Plan Act of 2021 (P.L. 117-2): Public Health, Medical Supply Chain, Health 
Services, and Related Provisions.  
53 Ibid. 
54 HHS, HRSA, “Defining Rural Population,” https://www.hrsa.gov/rural-health/about-us/definition/index.html, and 
HHS, HRSA, “Rural Health Grants Eligibility Analyzer,” https://data.hrsa.gov/tools/rural-health?tab=Address. 
55 Ibid. 
56 HHS, “Biden-Harris Administration Begins Distribution American Rescue Plan Rural Funding to Support Providers 
Impacted by the Pandemic,” press release, November 23, 2021, https://www.hhs.gov/about/news/2021/11/23/biden-
admin-begins-distributing-arp-prf-support-to-providers-impacted-by-pandemic.html.  
57 The methodology used to provide claims can be found at HHS, Payment Methodology, American Rescue Plan Rural 
Payment Overview,” https://www.hrsa.gov/provider-relief/future-payments/phase-4-arp-rural/payment-methodology.  

The Provider Relief Fund: Frequently Asked Questions 
 
Congressional Research Service  
 
11 
What Other Purposes Have the PRF Funds Been Used For?  
GAO examined PRF allocations as of August 31, 2021, and found that $0.980 billion was being 
used to administer the fund and that $14.80 billion was allocated for “vaccine and therapeutic 
development and procurement activities.”58 Additional news reports found that HHS used 
approximately $7 billion to acquire vaccines and therapeutics.59 In addition, $10 billion is being 
used to pay providers for treatment, vaccines, and vaccine administration costs for uninsured 
individuals who do not have vaccine coverage or who have cost sharing for vaccine 
administration costs. PRF funds were not used for uninsured testing. Instead, a total of $2 billion 
was appropriated in FFCRA and PPPHCEA for uninsured testing. Those funds have since been 
exhausted, and funds from ARPA were allocated by the Biden Administration for uninsured 
testing.60 However, no funding remains for uninsured testing as of March 22, 2022.61 (See “What 
Is the Relationship Between the Provider Relief Fund, the Uninsured Fund, and the Coverage 
Assistance Fund?”) As such, when summing the amount used for fund administration, vaccines 
and therapeutics, and uninsured care costs, approximately $33 billion of the $178 billion cannot 
be allocated to general provider payments. As discussed above (see “How Has Funding Been 
Allocated?”), the majority of funds have been allocated to providers through either general or 
targeted distributions. 
Provider Requirements  
What Must Providers Do to Receive Funds?  
Requirements to receive funds varied by distribution. The first general distribution (i.e., Phase 
One) for Medicare Fee-for-Service Providers was automatic, as HHS had payment and revenue 
information for these providers. Subsequent allocations required that entities submit 
documentation to HHS to receive funds. For example, for targeted distributions related to having 
provided care to a large number of COVID-19 patients, hospitals were required to submit 
documentation of their COVID-19 patient caseloads. As another example, the Phase 3 general 
distribution permitted entities that had previously received funds to receive up to 2% of their 
patient revenue, which required submitting financial information to document patient revenue.  
                                                 
 58 U.S. Government Accountability Office, COVID-19: Additional Actions Needed to Improve Accountability and 
Program Effectiveness of Federal Response, 21-105051, October 27, 2021, p. Appendix 8, https://files.gao.gov/reports/
GAO-22-105051/index.html#appendix8. For a discussion of the allocation of PRF funds for vaccines, see Rachel 
Cohrs, “The Trump Administration Quietly Spent Billion in Hospital Funds on Operation Warp Speed,” STAT, March 
2, 2021. The amount allocated for vaccines was estimated by GAO to be $9.97 billion in their March report. See U.S. 
Government Accountability Office, COVID-19 Sustained Federal Action is Crucial as Pandemic Enters Its Second 
Year, 31-387, March 2021, p. 60, https://www.gao.gov/assets/gao-21-387.pdf. 
59 Rachel Cohrs, “The Biden Administration Used Billions in Hospital COVID-19 Funds to Pay Drug Makers,” Stat, 
January 26, 2022, https://www.statnews.com/2022/01/26/the-biden-administration-used-billions-in-hospital-covid-19-
funds-to-pay-drugmakers/. 
60 HHS, “HHS to Dedicate $4.8 Billion from the American Rescue Plan to COVID19 Testing for the Uninsured,” press 
release, May 25, 2021, https://www.hhs.gov/about/news/2021/05/25/hhs-to-dedicate-billions-from-the-american-
rescue-plan-for-the-uninsured.html. 
61 HHS, HRSA, “COVID-19 Claims Reimbursement to Health Care Providers and Facilities for Testing, Treatment, 
and Vaccine Administration for the Uninsured,” https://www.hrsa.gov/coviduninsuredclaim. 

The Provider Relief Fund: Frequently Asked Questions 
 
Congressional Research Service  
 
12 
What Requirements Apply to Providers Receiving PRF Funds?  
Providers were required to attest to certain terms and conditions to accept PRF funds. Each 
distribution of funds had specific terms and conditions associated with the distribution—for 
example, that the provider met the specific conditions of that distribution (e.g., was a Medicaid 
provider for the second general distribution).62 Some terms and conditions apply across all of the 
allocations. These include certification that  
 
the entity provides or provided testing and care for actual or possible cases of 
COVID-19;  
 
the entity is not terminated or excluded from participating in the Medicare 
program or precluded from receiving payment from another federal health care 
program;  
 
that payment will be used only to prevent, prepare for, or respond to the 
coronavirus and will be used only for health care expenses or lost revenue 
attributable to the virus; 
 
that payment will not be used to reimburse expenses or losses that have been 
reimbursed by another source;  
 
the entity will comply, in the required timeframe, with HHS reporting 
requirements associated with the fund and report truthfully, accurately, and 
completely;  
 
the entity will maintain appropriate records and cost documentation; and 
 
for all presumptive or actual cases of COVID-19, the entity will not seek to 
collect from the patient out-of-pocket expenses that are greater than what the 
patient would have otherwise been required to pay if the care had been provided 
by an in-network provider for patients who have insurance plans with a specific 
provider network.63  
Entities are also required to comply with certain general provisions included in FY2020 
appropriations, such as those related to executive pay, lobbying, gun control advocacy, and 
abortion, among others.64  
What Must Providers Report After Receiving Funds? 
Entities that receive more than $10,000 (either one time or in the aggregate) are required to report 
the uses of their funds and to have expended all received funds within a year of receiving them, 
and to report all their expenditures within three months after the end of the expenditure period. 
For example, funds awarded between April 10 and June 30, 2020, must have been expended by 
June 30, 2021, and reported by September 30, 2021. In general, the usage deadline is a year from 
the end of the awarding period, and the reporting period commences the day after and continues 
for three months.65 This CRS report discusses the requirements that were issued on June 11, 2021; 
                                                 
62 For links to the terms and conditions associated with each distribution, see HHS, “CARES Act Provider Relief Fund: 
For Providers,” https://www.hrsa.gov/provider-relief/past-payments/terms-conditions.  
63 For more information on “in-network” and “out-of-network” coverage, see CRS Report R46856, Surprise Billing in 
Private Health Insurance: Overview of Federal Consumer Protections and Payment for Out-of-Network Services.  
64 HHS, “Acceptance of Terms and Conditions,” https://www.hhs.gov/sites/default/files/terms-and-conditions-provider-
relief-30-b.pdf, pp. 2-11.  
65 See Tables 1 and 2 on page 2 in HHS, “Provider Relief Fund General and Targeted Distribution Post-Payment Notice 

The Provider Relief Fund: Frequently Asked Questions 
 
Congressional Research Service  
 
13 
these are the most recent, and they supersede prior reporting requirements and apply to all past 
and future PRF allocations.66 Entities are generally required to report using their normal basis of 
accounting. They are also required to report on  
 
interest earned on PRF payments;  
 
other assistance received (e.g., Paycheck Protection Program);67  
 
use of Nursing Home Infection control payments, if applicable;  
 
use of general or targeted distribution payments, which may be used only for 
expenses that have not or will not be reimbursed by another source; 
 
net unreimbursed expenses attributable to coronavirus (requirements specify that 
this is to be calculated quarterly, net after PRF and other assistance payments are 
applied and must be broken out quarterly by whether such expenses are general, 
administrative, and/or health care related); and 
 
lost revenue reimbursement. Specifically, lost revenue reimbursements may be 
applied to remaining amounts that were not expended on health care-related 
expenses due to the coronavirus. HHS requires that entities submit documents to 
support their claims of lost revenue, which may be calculated by either of three 
options: (1) the difference between actual patient care revenue in 2019 and 2020, 
(2) the difference between the budgeted amount (prior to March 27, 2020) and 
actual patient care revenue, or (3) any reasonable method of estimating revenue.68 
Who Is Responsible for Reporting on PRF Funds?  
To receive funds from the PRF, an entity must have a Tax Identification Number (TIN). The 
entity then registers with that TIN and must report on all payments that meet the $10,000 
reporting threshold for the TIN. Under the PRF reporting requirements, the entity that registered 
its TIN has the responsibility to report to HHS, regardless of whether payments were transferred 
to a subsidiary. However, if an entity received payments directly (under its own TIN), but also 
received funds transferred from a parent entity, it must also report the transferred payments. HHS 
says that transferred targeted distributions payments (i.e., payments for high COVID-19 inpatient 
cases) are more likely to be audited by HRSA.69 
                                                 
of Reporting Requirements,” June 11, 2021, https://www.hhs.gov/sites/default/files/provider-post-payment-notice-of-
reporting-requirements-june-2021.pdf.  
66 HHS, “Provider Relief Fund General and Targeted Distribution Post-Payment Notice of Reporting Requirements,” 
June 11, 2021, https://www.hhs.gov/sites/default/files/provider-post-payment-notice-of-reporting-requirements-june-
2021.pdf.  
67 For more information on this program, see CRS Insight IN11324, CARES Act Assistance for Employers and 
Employees—The Paycheck Protection Program, Employee Retention Tax Credit, and Unemployment Insurance 
Benefits: Overview (Part 1), and CRS Insight IN11329, CARES Act Assistance for Employers and Employees—The 
Paycheck Protection Program, Employee Retention Tax Credit, and Unemployment Insurance Benefits: Assessment of 
Alternatives (Part 2).  
68 For methodology to calculate lost revenue, see pages 10-11 of HHS, “Provider Relief Fund General and Targeted 
Distribution Post-Payment Notice of Reporting Requirements,” June 11, 2021, https://www.hhs.gov/sites/default/files/
provider-post-payment-notice-of-reporting-requirements-june-2021.pdf.  
69 HHS notes some entities may be subject to additional auditing to ensure payment accuracy. See HHS, “Reporting 
Requirements and Auditing,” https://www.hhs.gov/coronavirus/cares-act-provider-relief-fund/reporting-auditing/
index.html. 

The Provider Relief Fund: Frequently Asked Questions 
 
Congressional Research Service  
 
14 
Can Providers Refuse or Return Funds? 
Providers must attest to certain terms and conditions after receiving funds. Providers may choose 
to return funds if they choose not to abide by the terms and conditions of the attestation. In 
addition, providers must expend funds by a certain date, which varies based on when providers 
received funding.70 For example, the earliest deadline was June 30, 2021, which applied to 
providers that received funds in Phase 1 (between April 10, 2020 and June 30, 2020). Providers 
that did not use their funds by the June 30, 2021, deadline associated with that distribution were 
required to return unexpended funds within 30 days after the end of the applicable reporting 
period.71  
Agency Requirements 
What Are HHS Reporting Requirements for the Fund? 
The Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2021, required the HHS Office of Inspector General (OIG) 
to submit a final report on its audit findings for the PRF not later than three years after the fund’s 
final payments are made. The report is to be submitted to the House and Senate appropriations 
committees. The law also specified that the OIG may conduct audits of interim payments prior to 
the final report. Additionally, the law required a report not later than 60 days after enactment of 
the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2021 (i.e., February 25, 2021), that included the obligations 
made from the fund, summarized by state. It also required that these reports be updated every 60 
days until the funds are expended. 
 
Author Information 
 
Elayne J. Heisler 
Specialist in Health Services 
   
                                                 
70 For a time line, see HHS, HHS, “HHS Issues Revised Notice of Reporting Requirements and Reporting Timeline for 
Recipients of Provider Relief Fund Payments,” press release, June 11, 2021, https://www.hhs.gov/about/news/2021/06/
11/hhs-issues-revised-reporting-requirements-timeline-for-provider-relief-fund-recipients.html. 
71 HHS, HRSA, “Provider Relief Fund General Information,” see “Terms and Conditions,” at https://www.hrsa.gov/
provider-relief/faq/general.  

The Provider Relief Fund: Frequently Asked Questions 
 
Congressional Research Service  
R46897 · VERSION 5 · UPDATED 
15 
 
 
Disclaimer 
This document was prepared by the Congressional Research Service (CRS). CRS serves as nonpartisan 
shared staff to congressional committees and Members of Congress. It operates solely at the behest of and 
under the direction of Congress. Information in a CRS Report should not be relied upon for purposes other 
than public understanding of information that has been provided by CRS to Members of Congress in 
connection with CRS’s institutional role. CRS Reports, as a work of the United States Government, are not 
subject to copyright protection in the United States. Any CRS Report may be reproduced and distributed in 
its entirety without permission from CRS. However, as a CRS Report may include copyrighted images or 
material from a third party, you may need to obtain the permission of the copyright holder if you wish to 
copy or otherwise use copyrighted material.

File and source

File
R46897-provider-relief-fund-faq.pdf
Size
1,240,428 bytes
SHA-256
94388a49daeeac3c94baa4489c1c1a486a31328527370a21b2f4e1c9aa1e6ffd
Our copy
R46897-provider-relief-fund-faq.pdf
Original
No public link identified.
Back to top