GAO-21-498T, COVID-19 Loans: SBA Has Begun to Take Steps to Improve Oversight and Fraud Risk Management
- Issuer
- Government Accountability Office
- Document type
- Opinion
- Date
- 2021-04-20
Opinion — GAO-21-498T, COVID-19 Loans: SBA Has Begun to Take Steps to Improve Oversight and Fraud Risk Management, dated 2021-04-20, issued by Government Accountability Office.
Full text
COVID-19 LOANS SBA Has Begun to Take Steps to Improve Oversight and Fraud Risk Management Statement of William B. Shear, Director, Financial Markets and Community Investment Testimony Before the Committee on Small Business, House of Representatives For Release on Delivery Expected at 10:00 a.m. ET Tuesday, April 20, 2021 GAO-21-498T United States Government Accountability Office United States Government Accountability Office Highlights of GAO-21-498T, a testimony before the Committee on Small Business, House of Representatives April 20, 2021 COVID-19 LOANS SBA Has Begun to Take Steps to Improve Oversight and Fraud Risk Management What GAO Found In April 2020, the Small Business Administration (SBA) quickly implemented the Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) and expedited the processing of Economic Injury Disaster Loans (EIDL) and a new EIDL advance program. These important programs have helped businesses survive during the COVID-19 pandemic. In an effort to move quickly on these programs, SBA initially put limited internal controls in place, leaving both susceptible to program integrity issues, improper payments, and fraud. Because of concerns about program integrity, GAO added PPP and the EIDL program onto its High-Risk List in March 2021. SBA has begun to take steps to address these initial deficiencies: • PPP oversight. Because ongoing oversight is crucial, GAO recommended in June 2020 that SBA develop plans to respond to PPP risks to ensure program integrity, achieve program effectiveness, and address potential fraud. Since then, SBA has developed a loan review process and added up- front verifications before it approves new loans. • Improper payments for PPP. GAO recommended in November 2020 that SBA expeditiously estimate improper payments for PPP and report estimates and error rates. SBA has now developed a plan for the testing needed to estimate improper payments. • Analyzing EIDL data. Based on evidence of widespread potential fraud for EIDL, GAO recommended in January 2021 that SBA conduct portfolio-level analysis to detect potentially ineligible applications. SBA has not announced plans to implement this recommendation. • EIDL oversight. GAO recommended in March 2021 that SBA implement a comprehensive oversight plan for EIDL to ensure program integrity. SBA agreed to implement such a plan. • Assessment of fraud risks. SBA has not conducted a formal fraud risk assessment for PPP or the EIDL program. GAO made four recommendations in March 2021, including that SBA conduct a formal assessment and develop a strategy to manage fraud risks for each program. SBA said it would work to complete fraud risk assessments for PPP and EIDL and continually monitor fraud risks. • Financial statement audit. In December 2020, SBA’s independent financial statement auditor issued a disclaimer of opinion on SBA’s fiscal year 2020 consolidated financial statements because SBA could not provide adequate documentation to support a significant number of transactions and account balances related to PPP and EIDL. GAO continues to review information SBA recently provided, including data on PPP loan forgiveness and details on the PPP and EIDL loan review processes. In addition, GAO has obtained additional information from a survey of PPP participating lenders, interviews with SBA’s PPP contractors, and written responses to questions provided by SBA’s EIDL contractor and subcontractors. View GAO-21-498T. For more information, contact William B. Shear at (202) 512-8678 or shearw@gao.gov. Why GAO Did This Study SBA has made or guaranteed about 18.7 million loans and grants through PPP and the EIDL program, providing about $968 billion to help small businesses adversely affected by COVID-19. PPP provides potentially forgivable loans to small businesses, and EIDL provides low-interest loans of up to $2 million for operating and other expenses, as well as advances (grants). This testimony discusses the lack of controls in PPP and the EIDL program and SBA’s efforts to improve its oversight of these programs. It is based largely on GAO’s June 2020– March 2021 reports on the federal response, including by SBA, to the economic downturn caused by COVID- 19 (GAO-20-625, GAO-20-701, GAO- 21-191, GAO-21-265, GAO-21-387). For those reports, GAO reviewed SBA documentation and SBA Office of Inspector General (OIG) reports; analyzed SBA data; and interviewed officials from SBA, the SBA OIG, and the Department of the Treasury. What GAO Recommends GAO has previously made eight recommendations to SBA to address internal control and fraud risk management deficiencies in PPP and the EIDL program. SBA neither agreed nor disagreed with three recommendations, and agreed with the five recommendations made in GAO’s March 2021 report. Page 1 GAO-21-498T Chairwoman Velázquez, Ranking Member Luetkemeyer, and Members of the Committee: I am pleased to be here today to discuss our work on the Small Business Administration’s (SBA) Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) and Economic Injury Disaster Loan (EIDL) program. As of April 4, 2021, SBA had made or guaranteed about 18.7 million loans and grants, providing about $968 billion to help small businesses adversely affected by Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19). As we reported in June 2020, lenders and SBA moved quickly to make and process PPP loans.1 Given the immediate need for these loans, SBA worked to streamline PPP so that lenders could begin distributing funds as quickly as possible. SBA’s initial interim final rule allowed lenders to rely on borrower certifications to determine the borrower’s eligibility and use of loan proceeds, and it required only limited lender review of borrower documents to determine the qualifying loan amount and eligibility for loan forgiveness.2 We also reported that as of June 2020, SBA had already approved more EIDLs than for all previous disasters combined, according to SBA officials. While millions of small businesses have benefited from these programs, the speed with which the programs were implemented left SBA with limited safeguards to identify and respond to program risks, including susceptibility to improper payments and fraud. Since June 2020, we have reported on the potential for fraud in both PPP and EIDL and have made eight recommendations to SBA to improve the programs (four for PPP and four for EIDL). In addition, we included these programs as a new area on our High-Risk List in March 2021 because of their potential for fraud, significant program integrity risks, and need for much improved 1GAO, COVID-19: Opportunities to Improve Federal Response and Recovery Efforts, GAO-20-625 (Washington, D.C.: June 25, 2020). 2See 85 Fed. Reg. 20,811 (Apr. 15, 2020). The interim final rule stated that lenders would be held harmless for borrowers’ failure to comply with program criteria. Congress later codified a PPP lender hold harmless provision, providing that lenders may rely on any certification or documentation submitted by applicants that is submitted, and attests that it is submitted, pursuant to all applicable statutory requirements. Pub. L. No. 116-260, div. N, tit. III, § 305, 134 Stat. 1182, 1996-97 (2020). Congress made this provision retroactive, as if it was included in the original CARES Act. Letter Page 2 GAO-21-498T program management and better oversight.3 We also cited the results of SBA’s most recent financial statement audit, in which the auditor issued a disclaimer of opinion on SBA’s financial statements because SBA was unable to provide adequate documentation to support a significant number of transactions and account balances related to PPP and EIDL.4 Further, as we reported multiple times, SBA’s failure to provide us with data and documentation on PPP and EIDL in a timely manner impeded efforts to ensure transparency and accountability for the programs. This included delays in our obtaining key information from SBA, such as detailed oversight plans and documentation for estimating improper payments. However, I am glad to report that we have received a significant amount of information and data from SBA and its contractors over the past 2 months. In this statement, I will discuss the lack of adequately documented controls in PPP and the EIDL program, as identified in prior work, and SBA’s efforts to improve its oversight of these programs. I also will characterize the information we have recently received and how we plan to evaluate that information in our ongoing work. In preparing this statement, we relied primarily on our body of work issued from June 2020 through March 2021 that reviewed, among other things, SBA’s implementation of these programs in response to the economic downturn caused by COVID-19.5 For those reports, we reviewed SBA documentation and analyzed program data, and we interviewed officials from SBA and the Department of the Treasury (Treasury). We also reviewed reports by SBA’s Office of Inspector General (SBA OIG) and interviewed SBA OIG officials. In 3GAO, High-Risk Series: Dedicated Leadership Needed to Address Limited Progress in Most High-Risk Areas, GAO-21-119SP (Washington, D.C.: Mar. 2, 2021). 4Small Business Administration, Office of Performance Management and the Chief Financial Officer, Agency Financial Report Fiscal Year 2020 (Washington, D.C.: Dec. 18, 2020), 39–63. 5See GAO-20-625; COVID-19: Brief Update on Initial Federal Response to the Pandemic, GAO-20-708 (Washington, D.C.: Aug. 31, 2020); COVID-19: Federal Efforts Could Be Strengthened by Timely and Concerted Actions, GAO-20-701 (Washington, D.C.: Sept. 21, 2020); COVID-19: Urgent Actions Needed to Better Ensure an Effective Federal Response, GAO-21-191 (Washington, D.C.: Nov. 30, 2020); COVID-19: Critical Vaccine Distribution, Supply Chain, Program Integrity, and Other Challenges Require Focused Federal Attention, GAO-21-265 (Washington, D.C.: Jan. 28, 2021); and COVID-19: Sustained Federal Action is Crucial as Pandemic Enters Its Second Year, GAO-21-387 (Washington, D.C.: Mar. 31, 2021). Page 3 GAO-21-498T addition, we interviewed officials from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). More detailed information on our scope and methodology can be found in our June 2020, September 2020, November 2020, January 2021, and March 2021 reports. We conducted the work on which this statement is based in accordance with generally accepted government auditing standards. Those standards require that we plan and perform the audit to obtain sufficient, appropriate evidence to provide a reasonable basis for our findings and conclusions based on our audit objectives. We believe that the evidence obtained provides a reasonable basis for our findings and conclusions based on our audit objectives. In response to the far-reaching public health and economic crises resulting from COVID-19, in March 2020, Congress passed, and the President signed into law, the CARES Act, which provides over $2 trillion in emergency assistance and health care response for individuals, families, and businesses affected by COVID-19.6 Among other things, Congress established PPP in the CARES Act to help small businesses affected by COVID-19.7 To date, Congress has provided commitment authority of about $814 billion for PPP.8 Through the CARES Act, Congress also temporarily expanded eligibility for SBA’s EIDL program and appropriated $10 billion to create emergency EIDL advances, a new component of the EIDL program under the 6Pub. L. No. 116-136, 134 Stat. 281 (2020). As of April 2021, six other relief laws were also enacted in response to the COVID-19 pandemic: the Coronavirus Preparedness and Response Supplemental Appropriations Act, 2020, Pub. L. No. 116-123, 134 Stat. 146; the Families First Coronavirus Response Act, Pub. L. No. 116-127, 134 Stat. 178 (2020); the Paycheck Protection Program and Health Care Enhancement Act, Pub. L. No. 116- 139, 134 Stat. 620 (2020); the Paycheck Protection Program Flexibility Act of 2020, Pub. L. No. 116-142, 134 Stat. 641; Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2021, Pub. L. No. 116- 260, 134 Stat. 1182; and American Rescue Plan Act of 2021, Pub. L. No. 117-2, 135 Stat. 4. 7PPP was authorized under SBA’s 7(a) small business lending program. 8Pub. L. No. 116-136, §§ 1102(b)(1), 1107(a)(1), 134 Stat. at 293, 301; Pub. L. No. 116- 139, § 101(a), 134 Stat. at 620; Pub. L. No. 117-2, § 5001(d) 135 Stat. at 85. Background CARES Act and Subsequent Appropriations Page 4 GAO-21-498T CARES Act.9 Prior to the enactment of the CARES Act, SBA had begun awarding EIDLs to small businesses affected by COVID-19 using existing funds.10 In total, Congress has appropriated $50 billion in loan credit subsidies for the cost of EIDL loans and $55 billion for advances to assist businesses affected by COVID-19.11 The $50 billion in loan credit subsidies would enable SBA to provide about $470 billion in EIDL loans. We have previously reported that strong internal controls increase the likelihood that an entity will achieve its objectives and help ensure that emergency relief funds are appropriately safeguarded.12 While some level of risk may be acceptable in an emergency, an effective internal control system improves accountability and transparency, provides feedback on how effectively an entity is operating, and helps reduce risks affecting the achievement of the entity’s objectives. A major component of internal control is identifying and responding to fraud risks. Recognizing fraud risks, and thoughtfully and deliberately managing them in an emergency 9Pub. L. No. 116-136, §§ 1107(a)(6), 1110, 134 Stat. 281, 302, 306. 10The Coronavirus Preparedness and Response Supplemental Appropriations Act, 2020, deemed COVID-19 a disaster under the Small Business Act, which made businesses experiencing economic injury caused by COVID-19 eligible for EIDLs. As a result, SBA began using existing $1.1 billion in loan credit subsidy to provide EIDLs to these affected businesses. The $1.1 billion in loan credit subsidy supported between $7 and $8 billion in EIDL loans. Loan credit subsidy covers the government’s cost of extending or guaranteeing credit and takes into consideration the estimated cash flows to and from the government. The loan credit subsidy amount is estimated to be about one-seventh of the cost of each disaster loan. 11SBA provided advances using the $10 billion Congress appropriated under the CARES Act. On April 16, 2020, SBA announced that the lending authority for EIDL loans and the funding for EIDL advances had been exhausted. Under the Paycheck Protection Program and Health Care Enhancement Act, Congress appropriated another $10 billion for advances and $50 billion in loan credit subsidy for EIDL loans. Additionally, Congress made agricultural enterprises eligible for EIDL loans and advances. SBA began accepting new applications from only agricultural enterprises on May 4, 2020. On June 15, 2020, SBA reopened the application portal to all eligible applicants. Congress appropriated an additional $20 billion for targeted EIDL advances to eligible entities located in low-income communities with 300 or fewer employees that experienced an economic loss of greater than 30 percent in the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2021. Qualifying entities may receive up to $10,000 in targeted advances. The American Rescue Plan Act of 2021 appropriated an additional $10 billion for the targeted EIDL advances; and $5 billion for a newly created $5,000 targeted EIDL advance program for business entities that qualified for the targeted EIDL advances but also meet smaller (employs less than 10 employees) and more economically harmed (economic loss greater than 50 percent) criteria than the original targeted EIDL advances. Pub. L. No. 117-2, § 5002, 135 Stat. 4, 85. The act also appropriated $70 million for EIDL loans. Pub. L. No. 117-2, § 5006, 135 Stat. at 92. 12GAO-20-625. Internal Controls and Emergency Relief Funds Page 5 GAO-21-498T environment, can help federal managers safeguard public resources while providing needed relief. According to federal internal control standards and GAO’s Fraud Risk Framework, managers in executive branch agencies are responsible for managing fraud risks and implementing practices for mitigating those risks.13 When fraud risks can be identified and mitigated, fraud may be less likely to occur.14 Program overview. PPP loans, which are made by lenders but guaranteed 100 percent by SBA, are low interest (1 percent) and fully forgivable if certain conditions are met. Subsequent legislation has modified the program, including the Paycheck Protection Program Flexibility Act of 2020, the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2021, and the American Rescue Plan Act of 2021.15 As modified, at least 60 percent of the loan forgiveness amount must be for payroll or other eligible expenses to qualify for full loan forgiveness, and there is a simplified loan forgiveness application process for loans of $150,000 or less.16 PPP initially ended on August 8, 2020, but the Consolidated Appropriations 13GAO, Standards for Internal Control in the Federal Government, GAO-14-704G (Washington, D.C.: Sept. 10, 2014); and A Framework for Managing Fraud Risks in Federal Programs, GAO-15-593SP (Washington, D.C.: July 18, 2015). 14“Fraud” and “fraud risk” are distinct concepts. Fraud involves obtaining something of value through willful misrepresentation. Fraud risk exists when individuals have an opportunity to engage in fraudulent activity, have an incentive or are under pressure to commit fraud, or are able to rationalize committing fraud. A fraud risk can exist even if fraud has not yet been identified or occurred. When fraud risks can be identified and mitigated, fraud may be less likely to occur. Determining if an act is fraud is beyond management’s professional responsibility for assessing risk (such determinations are made through judicial or adjudicative systems). See GAO, Medicare and Medicaid: CMS Needs to Fully Align Its Antifraud Efforts with the Fraud Risk Framework, GAO-18-88 (Washington, D.C.: Dec. 5, 2017). 15For example, the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2021, expanded the list of allowable uses of proceeds and loan forgiveness to include certain operations, property damage, supplier, and worker protection expenditures. Pub. L No. 116-260, div. N, tit. III, § 304, 134 Stat. at 1993-94 (2020). 16Under the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2021, the loan forgiveness certification should not be more than one page in length and should only require borrowers to provide a description of the number of employees they were able to retain because of the loan, the estimated amount of the loan amount spent on payroll costs, and the total loan value. Borrowers must also attest that they complied with all PPP loan requirements. Borrowers must retain relevant employment records for 4 years following submission of the form and other relevant records for 3 years. SBA retains the right to review and audit these loans for fraud. SBA Has Made Some Improvements in Response to Identified Weaknesses in PPP Page 6 GAO-21-498T Act, 2021, authorized additional loans under the program, including second PPP loans of up to $2 million for PPP borrowers provided they meet certain criteria.17 SBA relaunched the program (Round 2) on January 11, 2021, and small businesses can apply for a PPP loan through May 31, 2021.18 Program usage. According to SBA, as of April 4, 2021, lenders had made about 9.1 million PPP loans totaling about $746 billion. The majority of these loans (5.3 million loans totaling more than $521 billion, according to SBA) were made during Round 1 of PPP, which ended August 8, 2020.19 Implementing oversight plans. Given the immediate need for emergency funding, SBA implemented PPP quickly with limited safeguards for approving PPP loans. In June 2020, we reported that SBA’s initial interim final rule for PPP allows lenders to rely on borrowers’ certifying their eligibility and the use of loan proceeds.20 It also requires a limited review by the lender of documents provided by the borrower to determine the qualifying loan amount and eligibility for loan forgiveness.21 We noted that reliance on borrower self-certifications can leave a program vulnerable to exploitation by those who wish to circumvent eligibility requirements or pursue criminal activities. 17PPP borrowers are eligible to receive a second PPP loan of up to $2 million provided that they meet certain criteria, such as having not more than 300 employees, having used or intending to use the full amount of their initial PPP loan, and documenting quarterly revenue losses of at least 25 percent in a quarter of 2020 when compared to the same quarter in 2019. Pub. L No. 116-260, div. N, tit. III, § 311, 134 Stat. 1182, 2001 (2020); see also 86 Fed. Reg. 3712 (Jan. 14, 2021). 18The PPP Extension Act of 2021 extended the PPP covered period until June 30, 2021, but does not allow SBA to accept new applications starting June 1. Pub. L. No. 117-6, 135 Stat. 250. 19Totals exclude canceled loans. According to SBA, canceled loans may include, but are not limited to, duplicative loans, loans not closed for any reason, and loans that were fully paid off. In our September 2020 report, we provided information on the types of borrowers that received PPP loans and the size of PPP loans. 20GAO-20-625. 21As previously noted, Congress later included a hold harmless provision in the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2021. Pub. L. No. 116-260, div. N, tit. III, § 305, 134 Stat. 1182, 1996-97 (2020). Page 7 GAO-21-498T We also reported that because SBA had limited time to implement safeguards for the PPP loan approval process and assess program risks, ongoing oversight would be crucial. At that time, SBA had announced that it would review loans of more than $2 million to confirm borrower eligibility after the borrower applied for loan forgiveness, and that it might review any PPP loan it deemed appropriate. However, SBA provided few details on these reviews at that time. Therefore, we recommended that SBA develop and implement plans to identify and respond to risks in PPP to ensure program integrity, achieve program effectiveness, and address potential fraud, including in loans of $2 million or less. SBA neither agreed nor disagreed with our recommendation at that time. In December 2020, SBA officials said the agency had completed oversight plans and provided a Loan Review Plan for the loan review process. The plan references detailed policies and procedures for loan reviews and loan forgiveness reviews. In February 2021, SBA provided seven of the eight documents referenced in the plan and stated that the last document covering reviews of loans of $2 million or greater was still being finalized. The documents SBA provided include additional details on how SBA and its contractors will conduct the various reviews, including manual reviews conducted by contractor staff. We continue to review these documents to determine the extent to which they address our recommendation. According to SBA documentation, there are three steps in the loan review process for loans approved in 2020: automated screenings of all loans, manual reviews of selected loans, and quality control reviews to ensure the quality, completeness, and consistency of the review process. • Automated reviews. A contractor is to use a proprietary, automated tool to screen every disbursed PPP loan by applying eligibility and fraud detection rules to identify anomalies and attributes that may be indicative of noncompliance, fraud, or abuse. • Manual reviews. A contractor is to manually review loans for issues identified through the automated tool and provide SBA with an analysis and recommendation for either (1) further action, if the loan contains indications of noncompliance, fraud, or abuse (“unresolved”), or (2) no further action, if the loan following review does not contain indications of noncompliance, fraud, or abuse (“resolved”). SBA is to manually review (1) all loans of $2 million or greater, (2) all unresolved loans of less than $2 million, and (3) a statistically valid Page 8 GAO-21-498T sample of resolved loans of less than $2 million where the contractor recommended no further action. • Quality control reviews. A separate contractor is to conduct quality control reviews of a sample of loan review files after SBA has conducted its review and made its determination. In addition, SBA has added up-front controls to PPP as part of its implementation of Round 2 of the program. In the initial round of PPP, SBA did not conduct reviews of loan or borrower information before issuing a loan number. However, before SBA approves a loan during Round 2, the loan must pass front-end compliance checks of loan and borrower information. These reviews compare loan applications against Treasury’s Do Not Pay service and public records, according to SBA officials and documentation.22 Among other things, these validation efforts include determining whether the loan applicant business was in operation as of February 15, 2020. According to SBA, these checks have added time to the initial processing of the loans. However, according to SBA officials, as of March 2021, SBA was approving more than 96 percent of the applications within 48 hours after submission. Estimating improper payments. The limited safeguards for approving PPP loans may have increased SBA’s susceptibility to improper payments and fraud. However, SBA has not estimated the magnitude of potential improper payments. As we reported in November 2020, it is especially important for agencies with large appropriated amounts, like SBA, to quickly estimate their improper payments, identify root causes, and develop corrective actions when there are concerns about the possibility that improper payments, including those resulting from fraudulent activity, could be widespread.23 Because SBA had not taken these measures for PPP, we recommended that SBA expeditiously estimate improper payments and report estimates and error rates for PPP because of concerns about the possibility that improper payments, including those resulting from fraudulent activity, 22Treasury’s Do Not Pay service is an analytics tool that helps federal agencies detect and prevent improper payments made to vendors, grantees, loan recipients, and beneficiaries. Agencies can check multiple data sources to make payment eligibility decisions. 23GAO-21-191. Page 9 GAO-21-498T could be widespread. SBA neither agreed nor disagreed with our recommendation at that time. In response to our recommendation, SBA stated that it was planning to conduct improper payment testing for PPP and that it took improper payments seriously. In February 2021, SBA officials stated that SBA had submitted the sampling plan for this testing to the Office of Management and Budget and would use this sampling plan to estimate both improper payments and error rates for PPP. We will continue to monitor the agency’s actions to address this recommendation. Identifying and mitigating fraud risk. In January 2021, we reported on potentially suspicious activity in PPP.24 From April through October 2020, financial institutions filed more than 21,000 suspicious activity reports (SAR) related to PPP with the Financial Crimes Enforcement Network (FinCEN). These reports identified multiple types of potentially suspicious activity related to PPP, such as indicators of identity theft, the rapid movement of funds, and forgeries. Although the filing of a SAR does not necessarily mean that fraud has occurred, law enforcement agencies use these reports to help support investigations, such as those related to PPP fraud.25 Over 1,400 institutions had filed SARs related to PPP from April through October 2020, and the number of SARs filed generally increased during this period.26 24GAO-21-265. We analyzed aggregate SAR data across U.S. financial institutions from April through October 2020. These data did not include identifying information on financial institutions that filed SARs, such as PPP lender status. 25SARs are reports certain financial institutions are required to file if a transaction involves or aggregates at least a certain dollar amount in funds or other assets (generally $5,000), and the institution knows, suspects, or has reason to suspect that the transaction is designed to evade any Bank Secrecy Act requirements or involves money laundering, tax evasion, or other criminal activities. See, e.g. 31 C.F.R. § 1020.320. Under the Bank Secrecy Act’s implementing regulations, banks are also required to file a SAR when a transaction meets certain other criteria, such as for known or suspected criminal violations involving insider abuse of any amount. 12 C.F.R. §§ 21.11(c), 163.180(d)(3); 12 C.F.R. § 208.62(c); 12 C.F.R. § 353.3(a). Law enforcement agencies query FinCEN systems as part of their investigations of potential financial and other crimes. 26Banks and other financial institutions must file a SAR no later than 30 calendar days after the date of initial detection of facts that may constitute a basis for filing a SAR. If no suspect is identified on the date of detection of the incident requiring the filing, the financial institution may delay filing a SAR for an additional 30 calendar days to identify a suspect, but the report must be filed no more than 60 calendar days after the date of initial detection of a reportable transaction. Page 10 GAO-21-498T DOJ and law enforcement agencies have reported ongoing efforts related to potential fraud in PPP. From May 2020 through February 2021, DOJ publicly announced charges in over 100 fraud-related cases associated with PPP loans, charging at least 170 defendants. The charges—filed in federal courts across the U.S. and investigated by a range of law enforcement agencies—include allegations of making false statements and engaging in identity theft, wire and bank fraud, and money laundering. As of February 2021, over 30 defendants had pleaded guilty to federal charges of defrauding PPP. In addition to ongoing prosecutions, law enforcement officials we spoke with noted a large number of ongoing investigations and hotline complaints related to CARES Act loans, including PPP and the EIDL program. A senior official with SBA OIG told us that, as of January 2021, the OIG had opened over 260 investigations related to CARES Act loans, at least three times the number of investigations the office would typically open in a year. Similarly, SBA OIG reported receiving over 70,000 hotline complaints related to CARES Act programs, compared to the 700 to 800 it would receive in a typical year. Law enforcement officials also reported systemic patterns of fraud across PPP and EIDL investigations. Officials at SBA OIG and the FBI told us that they have identified systemic patterns of potential fraud, including identity theft, false attestations on loan documents, fictitious and inflated employee counts, falsified tax documentation, and misuse of proceeds. Additionally, the FBI reported in June 2020 that early investigations of PPP-related fraud involved bank insiders, previously convicted felons, the use of dormant or cash businesses, and identity theft. In March 2021, we found that SBA had taken some steps to mitigate fraud risks to PPP.27 According to SBA officials, they conducted an informal fraud risk assessment for PPP that resulted in reviews and the addition of some upfront controls, as discussed above. For example, SBA brought together subject matter experts from SBA and Treasury, as well as contractors, to identify fraud risks and mitigating controls for the program. To identify fraud risks, SBA used information on vulnerabilities observed through existing loan reviews as well as information from external sources, such as SBA OIG reports. In February 2021, SBA officials told us the agency would complete a formal fraud risk 27GAO-21-387. Page 11 GAO-21-498T assessment but did not provide a firm date for when they would complete such an assessment. Because SBA had not conducted a formal fraud risk assessment for PPP, we recommended in March 2021 that SBA (1) conduct and document a fraud risk assessment for PPP and (2) develop a strategy that outlines specific actions to monitor and manage fraud risks in PPP on a continuous basis. SBA agreed with the recommendations, stating that it would work to ensure that a fraud risk assessment for PPP is completed and that fraud risks are monitored on a continuous basis. Supporting PPP transactions and related controls. In December 2020, SBA’s independent financial statement auditor issued a disclaimer of opinion on SBA’s fiscal year 2020 consolidated financial statements, meaning the auditor was unable to express an opinion due to insufficient evidence.28 As the basis for the disclaimer, the auditor reported that SBA was unable to provide adequate documentation to support a significant number of transactions and account balances related to PPP due to inadequate processes and controls. The auditor identified several material weaknesses in controls related to SBA’s CARES Act programs, including PPP. In its discussion of material weaknesses related to PPP, the auditor noted there were over 2 million approved PPP loans (with an approximate total value of $189 billion) flagged by management that were potentially not in conformance with the CARES Act and related legislation. SBA management flagged the loans for one or more of 35 reasons (such as borrowers with criminal record or inactive businesses). In addition, the auditor found that SBA reported approximately $6 billion of PPP loans approved but not disbursed because of unsubmitted or unprocessed reports from lenders. In addition, the auditor noted there were over 896,000 errors from lender reporting that were identified but not reviewed or processed. The auditor recommended that SBA review loans with incomplete or inaccurate reporting and update records as appropriate, among other things. 28A disclaimer of opinion indicates that sufficient information was not available for the auditors to determine whether the reported financial statements were fairly presented in accordance with Generally Accepted Accounting Principles. Small Business Administration, Office of Performance Management and the Chief Financial Officer, Agency Financial Report Fiscal Year 2020. Page 12 GAO-21-498T We support the recommendations the auditor provided to address control weaknesses related to PPP, and we encourage SBA to continue to work to improve its controls over the program, as well as to improve its documentation to support future financial statement audits. Our audit of the U.S. government’s fiscal years 2020 and 2019 consolidated financial statements noted that SBA’s internal control deficiencies significantly increase the risk of misstatements, noncompliance, fraud and other improper payments.29 These deficiencies also contribute to the federal government’s inability to reasonably estimate the value of receivables and liabilities associated with lending programs. Program overview. The EIDL program provides low-interest loans of up to $2 million for expenses—such as operating expenses—that cannot be met because of a disaster. The CARES Act expanded EIDL program eligibility to include additional small business entities and relaxed some approval requirements, such as demonstrating that the business could not obtain credit elsewhere.30 Congress also appropriated $10 billion through the CARES Act to provide small businesses up to $10,000 in advances toward payroll, sick leave, and other business obligations, which borrowers do not have to repay, even if they are subsequently denied the EIDL. Through the Paycheck Protection Program and Health Care Enhancement Act, Congress appropriated $50 billion in loan credit subsidies for the cost of EIDL loans and an additional $10 billion for advances.31 On December 27, 2020, under the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2021, Congress appropriated an additional $20 billion for targeted EIDL advances. These targeted advances are restricted to certain eligible entities located in low-income communities that experienced an economic loss of greater than 30 percent and have no more than 300 employees. Qualifying entities may receive up to $10,000 in targeted advances. Previously, SBA calculated the advances provided under the CARES Act based on the applicant’s number of employees, up to $10,000. On March 29GAO, Financial Audit: FY 2020 and FY 2019 Consolidated Financial Statements of the U.S. Government, GAO-21-340R (Washington, D.C.: Mar. 25, 2021). 30Prior to CARES Act changes, eligible businesses included small businesses, most private nonprofits of any size, small aquaculture enterprises, and small agricultural cooperatives. 31The American Rescue Plan Act of 2021 appropriated an additional $70 million for EIDL loans. SBA Has Begun Adding Controls to Detect Fraud and Determine Eligibility in the Economic Injury Disaster Loan Program Page 13 GAO-21-498T 11, 2021, under the American Rescue Plan Act of 2021, Congress appropriated additional funding for entities that qualified for targeted EIDL advances under the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2021.32 Congress appropriated an additional $10 billion for eligible entities that have not received the full amount of $10,000 in targeted EIDL advances. Congress also appropriated $5 billion to provide an additional $5,000 for eligible entities in low-income communities that suffered economic loss of greater than 50 percent and employ not more than 10 employees. The $5,000 is available in addition to advances obtained under the CARES Act or targeted advances under the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2021. Program usage. As of April 1, 2021, SBA had approved about 3.8 million EIDL loans totaling about $202 billion (or an average of about $53,500 per loan). On July 11, 2020, SBA announced that it had fully allocated the $20 billion in funding for EIDL advances and would stop making advances to new applicants. Prior to then, SBA received about 10 million applications for EIDL advances related to COVID-19, and it approved about 5.8 million of these applications totaling $20 billion (or an average of about $3,500 per advance). SBA began implementing the targeted EIDL advances program on February 1, 2021. Detecting potentially ineligible and fraudulent applicants. The CARES Act relaxed some approval requirements for EIDL, such as requiring the applicant to demonstrate that it could not obtain credit elsewhere and restricting SBA from obtaining tax transcripts. In January 2021, we reported that as of July 14, 2020, SBA had provided about 5,000 advances totaling about $26 million to potentially ineligible businesses in three types of industries—adult entertainment, casino gambling, and marijuana retail.33 Additionally, we reported that as of September 30, 2020, SBA approved at least 3,000 loans totaling about $156 million to potentially ineligible businesses that SBA policies state were ineligible for the EIDL program, such as real estate developers and multilevel marketers.34 32Pub. L. No. 117-2, §§ 5002, 5006, 135 Stat. 4, 85, 92. 33GAO-21-265. 34Multilevel marketing is a business structure or practice in which an individual seller earns income both from direct sales and from the sales of the seller’s recruits, or those recruited by the seller’s recruits. Page 14 GAO-21-498T Therefore, we recommended in January 2021 that to improve SBA’s oversight of its EIDL approval process, SBA should develop and implement portfolio-level data analytics across EIDL loans and advances made in response to COVID-19 as a means to detect potentially ineligible and fraudulent applications.35 SBA neither agreed nor disagreed with our recommendation. SBA took issue with our finding that potentially ineligible businesses received EIDL advances and loans. SBA stated that CARES Act provisions permitted businesses to self-certify their eligibility and that applicants could not proceed until they certified that they were not engaged in any of the prohibited activities. The agency also stated that a business being in one of the categories we deemed ineligible did not automatically mean the business was ineligible. However, we did not state that the businesses were automatically ineligible. SBA also referred to actions the agency takes to ensure ineligible businesses do not receive EIDL loans, such as manual review of applications from businesses in prohibited categories. But SBA did not state it had any plans to conduct data analytics to identify potential ineligible businesses. We maintain that portfolio-level data analytics could help SBA improve its management of fraud risk. SBA has begun adding additional verifications for the targeted EIDL advance program. As part of the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2021, Congress requires SBA to perform eligibility verification for targeted advances, and it permitted SBA to require additional information from applicants, such as tax returns, for loans and advances as part of its verification. According to SBA officials, SBA has procured a contractor to map the primary business address to help ensure that the applicant meets program requirements. In addition, they have begun to obtain and review applicants’ IRS tax information and check for matches against the Treasury Do Not Pay list. The CARES Act previously restricted SBA from 35GAO’s Fraud Risk Framework cites data analytics as a leading practice in developing specific control activities to prevent and detect fraud—in particular, to mitigate the likelihood and impact of fraud. Data analytics can be used to detect potential fraud and can include a variety of techniques, such as data mining, data matching, and predictive analytics, to identity particular types of behavior. Such efforts can be conducted across a portfolio of all loans or activities to identify patterns or anomalies. Page 15 GAO-21-498T using this IRS tax information, including to verify eligibility for the EIDL advances. Identifying and mitigating fraud risk. Similar to PPP, we reported on potentially suspicious activity in EIDL in January 2021.36 Between May and October 2020, over 900 U.S. financial institutions filed more than 20,000 suspicious activity reports related to the EIDL program. These reports identified multiple types of potentially suspicious activity related to EIDL, such as indicators of identity theft, the rapid movement of funds, and forgeries. In October 2020, SBA OIG reported that its preliminary review revealed strong indicators of widespread potential fraud in the EIDL program. According to the report, OIG and other law enforcement agencies had seized over $450 million from over 15,000 fraudulent EIDL loans. DOJ and law enforcement agencies report ongoing efforts related to potential fraud in the EIDL program. From May 2020 through February 2021, DOJ publicly announced charges in over 30 fraud-related cases associated with EIDL loans and charged over 50 defendants. The charges—filed in federal courts across the U.S. and investigated by a range of law enforcement agencies—include allegations of making false statements and engaging in identity theft, wire and bank fraud, and money laundering. As of February 2021, at least five defendants had pleaded guilty to federal charges of defrauding the EIDL program. Law enforcement officials we spoke with also noted many ongoing investigations and hotline complaints related to CARES Act loans, including the EIDL program and PPP. Similar to PPP, they have also reported systemic patterns of fraud across EIDL investigations. In March 2021, we found that SBA had taken some steps to mitigate fraud risks in the EIDL program.37 SBA conducted an informal fraud risk assessment for EIDL that resulted in new and enhanced internal controls, according to SBA officials. For example, SBA began conducting eligibility checks through the Department of the Treasury’s Do Not Pay service and plans to obtain 2019 tax information from IRS for the targeted advances. The agency also considered fraud risks facing EIDL, the sources and 36GAO-21-265. 37GAO-21-387. Page 16 GAO-21-498T likelihood of those risks, and residual risks.38 Additionally, SBA officials told us SBA increased staffing for its OIG liaison team that reviews suspicious loans flagged by loan officers and forwards referrals to SBA OIG. According to SBA OIG, as of January 2021, it had received nearly 750,000 of these referrals related to identity theft and over 585,000 referrals related to other potentially fraudulent activities associated with the EIDL program. Because SBA had not conducted a formal fraud risk assessment for EIDL, we recommended in March 2021 that SBA (1) conduct and document a fraud risk assessment for the EIDL program and (2) develop a strategy that outlines specific actions to address assessed fraud risks in the EIDL program on a continuous basis. SBA agreed with the recommendations, stating that it would work to ensure that a fraud risk assessment for EIDL is completed and that fraud risks are monitored on a continuous basis. Implementing oversight plans. As discussed above, we and others have identified gaps in controls that may have led to fraud and the provision of EIDL funding to ineligible entities. However, we reported in March 2021 that SBA’s Office of Disaster Assistance, which administers the EIDL program, had not proactively assessed risks to the program.39 SBA officials told us that SBA does not have documented risk assessments and that SBA has identified problems primarily through loan officer review of loan applications. The lack of a comprehensive plan to proactively assess controls and mitigate risks in the EIDL program may hinder SBA from achieving the defined objectives of the program and identifying opportunities for improving preventive controls in a timely manner. For example, SBA officials told us that 4 months after SBA started using the service organization’s automated validation system to approve loan applications in batches, they realized that these applications contained alerts that should have been further reviewed by loan officers. Because SBA did not have a plan for responding to EIDL risks, we recommended in March 2021 that SBA implement a comprehensive 38According to federal internal control standards, inherent risk is the risk to an entity prior to considering management’s response to the risk. Residual risk is the risk that remains after management’s response to inherent risk. 39GAO-21-387. Page 17 GAO-21-498T oversight plan to identify and respond to risks in the EIDL program to help ensure program integrity, achieve program effectiveness, and address potential fraud. SBA agreed with the recommendation, stating that it would implement a comprehensive oversight plan for EIDL. Ensuring adequate controls over EIDL approvals and contractors. SBA’s independent financial statement auditor also found material weaknesses related to SBA’s processing of EIDL loans and advances and contractor oversight, and these weaknesses contributed to the auditor’s disclaimer of opinion on SBA’s financial statements. To process EIDL loans and advances, SBA used a contractor system to first automatically validate applicants and then issue alerts, including fraud alerts, which SBA loan officers were to review and mitigate. The auditor determined that SBA did not adequately design and implement controls to ensure that loan officers accurately recorded and approved EIDL loan and advances for eligible borrowers. Further, SBA did not design and implement controls to ensure loan officers addressed fraud alerts before they approved applications. The auditor also determined that SBA did not adequately design and implement internal controls for evaluating and monitoring the contractor’s controls for the validation system. We support the recommendations the auditor provided to address control weaknesses related to EIDL, and we encourage SBA to continue to work to improve its controls over the program, as well as to improve its documentation to support future financial statement audits. Our work on PPP and EIDL is ongoing. As mentioned above, we recently received a significant amount of additional information and data from SBA and its contractors, which we are beginning to analyze. For PPP, we continue to examine the safeguards SBA implemented to help ensure that lenders and borrowers complied with program requirements and the loan forgiveness process. We have received additional information on PPP loan reviews, including information provided during interviews with contractors performing some of the reviews. SBA also recently provided loan-level information for those borrowers who have applied for forgiveness, which we are using to evaluate the forgiveness process. In addition, we have surveyed a generalizable sample of PPP lenders to obtain their perspectives on the program. For EIDL, we have ongoing work to examine SBA actions to address internal control weaknesses and the integrity of the EIDL program. We recently received written answers from SBA’s contractor and subcontractors for EIDL and are reviewing the information. In addition, we Page 18 GAO-21-498T remain concerned about fraud risks in the EIDL program and have ongoing work related to fraud risk management. For both programs, we also continue to monitor SBA’s progress toward developing and implementing corrective actions to address the material weaknesses identified by its financial statement auditor. Chairwoman Velázquez, Ranking Member Luetkemeyer, and Members of the Committee, this concludes my statement. I would be pleased to respond to any questions you may have. If you or your staff have any questions about this testimony, please contact William B. Shear, Director, Financial Markets and Community Investment, at (202) 512-8678 or shearw@gao.gov. Contact points for our Offices of Congressional Relations and Public Affairs may be found on the last page of this statement. GAO staff who made key contributions to this testimony are Paige Smith (Assistant Director), Marshall Hamlett (Assistant Director), Daniel Newman (Analyst in Charge), Marcia Carlsen, Irina Carnevale, Jacob Fender, Dan Flavin, Jessica Sandler, Shenandoah Sowash, Tyler Spunaugle, and Weifei Zheng. GAO Contact and Staff Acknowledgments (105078) This is a work of the U.S. government and is not subject to copyright protection in the United States. The published product may be reproduced and distributed in its entirety without further permission from GAO. However, because this work may contain copyrighted images or other material, permission from the copyright holder may be necessary if you wish to reproduce this material separately. The Government Accountability Office, the audit, evaluation, and investigative arm of Congress, exists to support Congress in meeting its constitutional responsibilities and to help improve the performance and accountability of the federal government for the American people. GAO examines the use of public funds; evaluates federal programs and policies; and provides analyses, recommendations, and other assistance to help Congress make informed oversight, policy, and funding decisions. GAO’s commitment to good government is reflected in its core values of accountability, integrity, and reliability. The fastest and easiest way to obtain copies of GAO documents at no cost is through our website. Each weekday afternoon, GAO posts on its website newly released reports, testimony, and correspondence. You can also subscribe to GAO’s email updates to receive notification of newly posted products. The price of each GAO publication reflects GAO’s actual cost of production and distribution and depends on the number of pages in the publication and whether the publication is printed in color or black and white. Pricing and ordering information is posted on GAO’s website, https://www.gao.gov/ordering.htm. Place orders by calling (202) 512-6000, toll free (866) 801-7077, or TDD (202) 512-2537. Orders may be paid for using American Express, Discover Card, MasterCard, Visa, check, or money order. Call for additional information. Connect with GAO on Facebook, Flickr, Twitter, and YouTube. Subscribe to our RSS Feeds or Email Updates. Listen to our Podcasts. Visit GAO on the web at https://www.gao.gov. Contact FraudNet: Website: https://www.gao.gov/fraudnet/fraudnet.htm Automated answering system: (800) 424-5454 or (202) 512-7700 Orice Williams Brown, Managing Director, WilliamsO@gao.gov, (202) 512-4400, U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street NW, Room 7125, Washington, DC 20548 Chuck Young, Managing Director, youngc1@gao.gov, (202) 512-4800 U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street NW, Room 7149 Washington, DC 20548 Stephen J. Sanford, Acting Managing Director, spel@gao.gov, (202) 512-4707 U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street NW, Room 7814, Washington, DC 20548 GAO’s Mission Obtaining Copies of GAO Reports and Testimony Order by Phone Connect with GAO To Report Fraud, Waste, and Abuse in Federal Programs Congressional Relations Public Affairs Strategic Planning and External Liaison Please Print on Recycled Paper.
File and source
- File
- 21-498t-covid-19-loans-sba-has-begun-to.pdf
- Size
- 345,733 bytes
- SHA-256
- 77939e6bec3c880839845048c0ab72d8b7a11202614f40b446160f5b2fb5f780
- Original
- www.gao.gov