Pandemic Darlings The pandemic economy, in original documents
Home Court filings SBA PPP Loan Forgiveness Application Form — SBA PPP

Court filing

Loan Forgiveness Application Form — SBA PPP

Archived specimen for the record — not for filing; current forms are at sba.gov.

Filed May 15, 2020 in SBA PPP; one of 3 filings from this case.

Record facts

CourtU.S. Small Business Administration
Filed2020-05-15

Full text

Paycheck Protection Program                                 OMB Control Number 3245-0407 
  Loan Forgiveness Application                                                Expiration Date: 10/31/2020 
SBA Form 3508 (05/20) 
 
Page 1 
LOAN FORGIVENESS APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS FOR BORROWERS 
 
To apply for forgiveness of your Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) loan, you (the Borrower) must complete this application as 
directed in these instructions, and submit it to your Lender (or the Lender that is servicing your loan).  Borrowers may also 
complete this application electronically through their Lender.   
 
This application has the following components: (1) the PPP Loan Forgiveness Calculation Form; (2) PPP Schedule A; (3) the PPP 
Schedule A Worksheet; and (4) the (optional) PPP Borrower Demographic Information Form.  All Borrowers must submit (1) and 
(2) to their Lender. 
 
Instructions for PPP Loan Forgiveness Calculation Form 
 
Business Legal Name (“Borrower”)/DBA or Tradename (if applicable)/Business TIN (EIN, SSN):  Enter the same 
information as on your Borrower Application Form. 
 
Business Address/Business Phone/Primary Contact/E-mail Address:  Enter the same information as on your Borrower 
Application Form, unless there has been a change in address or contact information. 
 
SBA PPP Loan Number:  Enter the loan number assigned by SBA at the time of loan approval.  Request this number from the 
Lender if necessary. 
 
Lender PPP Loan Number:  Enter the loan number assigned to the PPP loan by the Lender. 
 
PPP Loan Amount:  Enter the disbursed principal amount of the PPP loan (the total loan amount you received from the Lender). 
 
Employees at Time of Loan Application: Enter the total number of employees at the time of the Borrower’s PPP Loan 
Application. 
 
Employees at Time of Forgiveness Application: Enter the total number of employees at the time the Borrower is applying for 
loan forgiveness. 
 
PPP Loan Disbursement Date:  Enter the date that you received the PPP loan proceeds from the Lender.  If loan proceeds were 
received on more than one date, enter the first date on which you received PPP loan proceeds. 
 
EIDL Advance Amount:  If the Borrower received an Economic Injury Disaster Loan (EIDL) advance, enter the amount. 
 
EIDL Application Number:  If the Borrower applied for an EIDL, enter the Borrower’s EIDL Application Number. 
 
Payroll Schedule:  Select the box that corresponds to your payroll schedule.    
 
Covered Period:  Enter the eight-week (56-day) Covered Period of your PPP loan.  The first day of the Covered Period must be 
the same as the PPP Loan Disbursement Date.  For example, if the Borrower received its PPP loan proceeds on Monday, April 20, 
the first day of the Covered Period is April 20 and the last day of the Covered Period is Sunday, June 14. 
 
Alternative Payroll Covered Period:  For administrative convenience, Borrowers with a biweekly (or more frequent) payroll 
schedule may elect to calculate eligible payroll costs using the eight-week (56-day) period that begins on the first day of their first 
pay period following their PPP Loan Disbursement Date (the “Alternative Payroll Covered Period”).  For example, if the Borrower 
received its PPP loan proceeds on Monday, April 20, and the first day of its first pay period following its PPP loan disbursement is 
Sunday, April 26, the first day of the Alternative Payroll Covered Period is April 26 and the last day of the Alternative Payroll 
Covered Period is Saturday, June 20.  Borrowers who elect to use the Alternative Payroll Covered Period must apply the 
Alternative Payroll Covered Period wherever there is a reference in this application to “the Covered Period or the Alternative 
Payroll Covered Period.”  However, Borrowers must apply the Covered Period (not the Alternative Payroll Covered Period) 
wherever there is a reference in this application to “the Covered Period” only. 
 
If Borrower Received PPP Loans in Excess of $2 Million:  Check the box if the Borrower, together with its affiliates (to the 
extent required under SBA’s interim final rule on affiliates (85 FR 20817 (April 15, 2020)) and not waived under 15 U.S.C. 
636(a)(36)(D)(iv)), received PPP loans with an original principal amount in excess of $2 million. 
 
Forgiveness Amount Calculation (see Summary of Costs Eligible for Forgiveness below): 
 
Line 1:  Enter total eligible payroll costs incurred or paid during the Covered Period or the Alternative Payroll Covered Period.  

Paycheck Protection Program                                  OMB Control Number 3245-0407 
Loan Forgiveness Application                                                Expiration Date: 10/31/2020 
 
SBA Form 3508 (05/20) 
 
Page 2 
 
To calculate these costs, complete PPP Schedule A.  Enter the amount from PPP Schedule A, line 10. 
 
Line 2:  Enter the amount of business mortgage interest payments during the Covered Period for any business mortgage obligation 
on real or personal property incurred before February 15, 2020.  Do not include prepayments. 
 
Line 3:  Enter the amount of business rent or lease payments for real or personal property during the Covered Period, pursuant to 
lease agreements in force before February 15, 2020.   
 
Line 4:  Enter the amount of business utility payments during the Covered Period, for business utilities for which service began 
before February 15, 2020.   
 
NOTE:  For lines 2-4, you are not required to report payments that you do not want to include in the forgiveness amount. 
 
Line 5:  Enter the number from PPP Schedule A, line 3.  This amount reflects the loan forgiveness reduction required for 
salary/hourly wage reductions in excess of 25% for certain employees as described in PPP Schedule A. 
 
Line 6:  Add lines 1 through 4, subtract line 5, enter the total.  If this amount is less than zero, enter a zero.  
 
Line 7:  Enter the number from PPP Schedule A, line 13.   
 
Line 8:  Enter the amount on line 6 multiplied by the amount on line 7.  This calculation incorporates the loan forgiveness 
reduction required for any full-time equivalency (FTE) employee reductions as described in PPP Schedule A. 
 
Line 9:  Enter the PPP Loan Amount.   
 
Line 10:  Divide the amount on line 1 by 0.75, and enter the amount.  This determines whether at least 75% of the potential 
forgiveness amount was used for payroll costs.  For more information, see Interim Final Rule on Paycheck Protection Program 
posted on April 2, 2020 (85 FR 20811).   
 
Line 11:  Enter the smallest of lines 8, 9, or 10.  Note: If applicable, SBA will deduct EIDL Advance Amounts from the 
forgiveness amount remitted to the Lender. 
 
Summary of Costs Eligible for Forgiveness: 
 
Borrowers are eligible for loan forgiveness for the following costs: 
 
1. Eligible payroll costs.  Borrowers are generally eligible for forgiveness for the payroll costs paid and payroll costs incurred 
during the eight-week (56-day) Covered Period (or Alternative Payroll Covered Period) (“payroll costs”).  Payroll costs are 
considered paid on the day that paychecks are distributed or the Borrower originates an ACH credit transaction.  Payroll 
costs are considered incurred on the day that the employee’s pay is earned.  Payroll costs incurred but not paid during the 
Borrower’s last pay period of the Covered Period (or Alternative Payroll Covered Period) are eligible for forgiveness if paid 
on or before the next regular payroll date.  Otherwise, payroll costs must be paid during the Covered Period (or Alternative 
Payroll Covered Period).  For each individual employee, the total amount of cash compensation eligible for forgiveness may 
not exceed an annual salary of $100,000, as prorated for the covered period.  Count payroll costs that were both paid and 
incurred only once.  For information on what qualifies as payroll costs, see Interim Final Rule on Paycheck Protection 
Program posted on April 2, 2020 (85 FR 20811). 
 
2. Eligible nonpayroll costs.  Nonpayroll costs eligible for forgiveness consist of:  
(a) covered mortgage obligations: payments of interest (not including any prepayment or payment of principal) on any 
business mortgage obligation on real or personal property incurred before February 15, 2020 (“business mortgage 
interest payments”); 
(b) covered rent obligations: business rent or lease payments pursuant to lease agreements for real or personal property in 
force before February 15, 2020 (“business rent or lease payments”); and  
(c) covered utility payments: business payments for a service for the distribution of electricity, gas, water, 
transportation, telephone, or internet access for which service began before February 15, 2020 (“business utility 
payments”).   
An eligible nonpayroll cost must be paid during the Covered Period or incurred during the Covered Period and paid on or 
before the next regular billing date, even if the billing date is after the Covered Period.  Eligible nonpayroll costs cannot 
exceed 25% of the total forgiveness amount.  Count nonpayroll costs that were both paid and incurred only once. 
 
The amount of loan forgiveness the Borrower applies for may be subject to reductions as explained in PPP Schedule A. 

Paycheck Protection Program                                  OMB Control Number 3245-0407 
Loan Forgiveness Application                                                Expiration Date: 10/31/2020 
 
SBA Form 3508 (05/20) 
 
Page 3 
 
PPP Loan Forgiveness Calculation Form 
Business Legal Name (“Borrower”) 
DBA or Tradename, if applicable 
 
Business Address 
Business TIN (EIN, SSN) 
Business Phone 
(     )        - 
Primary Contact 
E-mail Address 
SBA PPP Loan Number:  ________________________  Lender PPP Loan Number:  __________________________ 
PPP Loan Amount:  _____________________________ PPP Loan Disbursement Date:  _______________________ 
Employees at Time of Loan Application:  ___________  
Employees at Time of Forgiveness Application:  ___________ 
EIDL Advance Amount:  ________________________  EIDL Application Number:  __________________________ 
Payroll Schedule:  The frequency with which payroll is paid to employees is: 
☐ Weekly       ☐  Biweekly (every other week) 
☐  Twice a month 
☐  Monthly 
☐  Other _____________ 
Covered Period:  ________________________ to ________________________ 
Alternative Payroll Covered Period, if applicable:  ________________________ to _______________________ 
If Borrower (together with affiliates, if applicable) received PPP loans in excess of $2 million, check here: ☐ 
Forgiveness Amount Calculation: 
Payroll and Nonpayroll Costs 
Line 1. Payroll Costs (enter the amount from PPP Schedule A, line 10): 
 
 
 
_____________________ 
Line 2. Business Mortgage Interest Payments: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
_____________________ 
Line 3. Business Rent or Lease Payments: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
_____________________ 
Line 4. Business Utility Payments: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
_____________________ 
Adjustments for Full-Time Equivalency (FTE) and Salary/Hourly Wage Reductions 
Line 5. Total Salary/Hourly Wage Reduction (enter the amount from PPP Schedule A, line 3):   
_____________________ 
Line 6. Add the amounts on lines 1, 2, 3, and 4, then subtract the amount entered in line 5: 
 
_____________________ 
Line 7. FTE Reduction Quotient (enter the number from PPP Schedule A, line 13):  
 
 
_____________________ 
Potential Forgiveness Amounts 
Line 8. Modified Total (multiply line 6 by line 7):  
 
 
 
 
 
_____________________ 
Line 9. PPP Loan Amount: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
_____________________ 
Line 10. Payroll Cost 75% Requirement (divide line 1 by 0.75): 
 
 
 
 
_____________________ 
Forgiveness Amount 
Line 11. Forgiveness Amount (enter the smallest of lines 8, 9, and 10): 
 
 
 
_____________________ 

Paycheck Protection Program                                  OMB Control Number 3245-0407 
Loan Forgiveness Application                                                Expiration Date: 10/31/2020 
 
SBA Form 3508 (05/20) 
 
Page 4 
 
By Signing Below, You Make the Following Representations and Certifications on Behalf of the Borrower: 
 
The authorized representative of the Borrower certifies to all of the below by initialing next to each one.  
 
_____  
The dollar amount for which forgiveness is requested: 
• 
was used to pay costs that are eligible for forgiveness (payroll costs to retain employees; business mortgage 
interest payments; business rent or lease payments; or business utility payments); 
• 
includes all applicable reductions due to decreases in the number of full-time equivalent employees and 
salary/hourly wage reductions; 
• 
does not include nonpayroll costs in excess of 25% of the amount requested; and  
• 
does not exceed eight weeks’ worth of 2019 compensation for any owner-employee or self-employed 
individual/general partner, capped at $15,385 per individual. 
_____  
I understand that if the funds were knowingly used for unauthorized purposes, the federal government may pursue recovery 
of loan amounts and/or civil or criminal fraud charges. 
_____ 
The Borrower has accurately verified the payments for the eligible payroll and nonpayroll costs for which the Borrower is 
requesting forgiveness. 
_____ 
I have submitted to the Lender the required documentation verifying payroll costs, the existence of obligations and service 
(as applicable) prior to February 15, 2020, and eligible business mortgage interest payments, business rent or lease 
payments, and business utility payments.   
_____ 
The information provided in this application and the information provided in all supporting documents and forms is 
true and correct in all material respects.  I understand that knowingly making a false statement to obtain forgiveness of 
an SBA-guaranteed loan is punishable under the law, including 18 USC 1001 and 3571 by imprisonment of not more than 
five years and/or a fine of up to $250,000; under 15 USC 645 by imprisonment of not more than two years and/or a fine 
of not more than $5,000; and, if submitted to a Federally insured institution, under 18 USC 1014 by imprisonment of not 
more than thirty years and/or a fine of not more than $1,000,000. 
_____ 
The tax documents I have submitted to the Lender are consistent with those the Borrower has submitted/will submit 
to the IRS and/or state tax or workforce agency.  I also understand, acknowledge, and agree that the Lender can 
share the tax information with SBA’s authorized representatives, including authorized representatives of the SBA 
Office of Inspector General, for the purpose of ensuring compliance with PPP requirements and all SBA reviews. 
 
_____ 
I understand, acknowledge, and agree that SBA may request additional information for the purposes of evaluating 
the Borrower’s eligibility for the PPP loan and for loan forgiveness, and that the Borrower’s failure to provide 
information requested by SBA may result in a determination that the Borrower was ineligible for the PPP loan or a 
denial of the Borrower’s loan forgiveness application. 
 
The Borrower’s eligibility for loan forgiveness will be evaluated in accordance with the PPP regulations and guidance issued by 
SBA through the date of this application.  SBA may direct a lender to disapprove the Borrower’s loan forgiveness application if 
SBA determines that the Borrower was ineligible for the PPP loan.   
_____________________________________________________    
 
____________________________  
Signature of Authorized Representative of Borrower  
 
 
 
Date 
_____________________________________________________    
 
____________________________  
Print Name 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  
Title 
 
 

Paycheck Protection Program                                  OMB Control Number 3245-0407 
Loan Forgiveness Application                                                Expiration Date: 10/31/2020 
 
SBA Form 3508 (05/20) 
 
Page 5 
 
Instructions for PPP Schedule A 
 
Lines 1 through 5:  Enter the amounts from PPP Schedule A Worksheet Tables as directed.   
 
Enter the amount from line 3 of PPP Schedule A on line 5 of the Loan Forgiveness Application Form. 
 
For lines 6 through 9, during the Covered Period or the Alternative Payroll Covered Period: 
 
 
  
 
Line 6:  Enter the total amount paid by the Borrower for employer contributions for employee health insurance, including 
employer contributions to a self-insured, employer-sponsored group health plan, but excluding any pre-tax or after tax 
contributions by employees. 
 
Line 7:  Enter the total amount paid by the Borrower for employer contributions to employee retirement plans, excluding 
any pre-tax or after-tax contributions by employees. 
 
Line 8:  Enter the total amount paid by the Borrower for employer state and local taxes assessed on employee compensation 
(e.g., state unemployment insurance tax); do not list any taxes withheld from employee earnings. 
 
Line 9:  Enter any amounts paid to owners (owner-employees, a self-employed individual, or general partners).  This 
amount is capped at $15,385 (the eight-week equivalent of $100,000 per year) for each individual or the eight-week 
equivalent of their applicable compensation in 2019, whichever is lower.  See Interim Final Rule on Additional Eligibility 
Criteria and Requirements for Certain Pledges of Loans posted on April 14, 2020 for more information (85 FR 21747, 
21749).   
 
Line 10:  Add lines 1, 4, 6, 7, 8, and 9.  Enter this amount on line 1 on the PPP Loan Forgiveness Calculation Form. 
 
Line 11:  Enter the Borrower’s total average weekly full-time equivalency (FTE) during the chosen reference period.  For purposes 
of this calculation, the reference period is, at the Borrower’s election, either (i) February 15, 2019 to June 30, 2019; (ii) January 1, 
2020 to February 29, 2020; or (iii) in the case of seasonal employers, either of the preceding periods or a consecutive twelve-week 
period between May 1, 2019 and September 15, 2019.  For each employee, follow the same method that was used to calculate 
Average FTE on the PPP Schedule A Worksheet.  Sum across all employees during the reference period and enter that total on this 
line. 
 
The calculations on lines 11, 12, and 13 will be used to determine whether the Borrower’s loan forgiveness amount must be reduced 
based on reductions in full-time equivalent employees, as required by the statute.  Specifically, the actual loan forgiveness amount that 
the Borrower will receive may be reduced if the Borrower’s average weekly FTE employees during the Covered Period (or the 
Alternative Payroll Covered Period) was less than during the Borrower’s chosen reference period.  The Borrower is exempt from such 
a reduction if the FTE Reduction Safe Harbor applies.  See PPP Schedule A Worksheet—FTE Reduction Safe Harbor.   
 
Line 12:  Add lines 2 and 5.   
 
Line 13:  Divide line 12 by line 11 (or enter 1.0 if the FTE Reduction Safe Harbor has been met, according to PPP Schedule A 
Worksheet—FTE Reduction Safe Harbor).  If more than 1.0, enter 1.0.  Enter this amount on line 7 of the Loan Forgiveness 
Calculation Form.   
 
 
 
 

Paycheck Protection Program                                  OMB Control Number 3245-0407 
Loan Forgiveness Application                                                Expiration Date: 10/31/2020 
 
SBA Form 3508 (05/20) 
 
Page 6 
 
PPP Schedule A 
PPP Schedule A Worksheet, Table 1 Totals 
Line 1. Enter Cash Compensation (Box 1) from PPP Schedule A Worksheet, Table 1: 
  
    
___________________ 
Line 2. Enter Average FTE (Box 2) from PPP Schedule A Worksheet, Table 1:  
 
   
___________________ 
Line 3. Enter Salary/Hourly Wage Reduction (Box 3) from PPP Schedule A Worksheet, Table 1:     
___________________ 
If the average annual salary or hourly wage for each employee listed on the PPP 
Schedule A Worksheet, Table 1 during the Covered Period or the Alternative Payroll 
Covered Period was at least 75% of such employee’s average annual salary or hourly 
wage between January 1, 2020 and March 31, 2020, check here ☐ and enter 0 on line 
3. 
PPP Schedule A Worksheet, Table 2 Totals 
Line 4. Enter Cash Compensation (Box 4) from PPP Schedule A Worksheet, Table 2: 
 
 
___________________ 
Line 5. Enter Average FTE (Box 5) from PPP Schedule A Worksheet, Table 2:  
    
 
___________________ 
Non-Cash Compensation Payroll Costs During the Covered Period or the Alternative Payroll Covered Period 
Line 6. Total amount paid by Borrower for employer contributions for employee health insurance: 
___________________ 
Line 7. Total amount paid by Borrower for employer contributions to employee retirement plans:     
___________________ 
Line 8. Total amount paid by Borrower for employer state and local taxes assessed on employee 
compensation:  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
    
___________________ 
 
Compensation to Owners 
Line 9. Total amount paid to owner-employees/self-employed individual/general partners: 
    
_____________________    
This amount may not be included in PPP Schedule A Worksheet, Table 1 or 2.  If there is 
more than one individual included, attach a separate table that lists the names of and 
payments to each. 
Total Payroll Costs 
Line 10. Payroll Costs (add lines 1, 4, 6, 7, 8, and 9):  
                           
    
 
___________________ 
Full-Time Equivalency (FTE) Reduction Calculation 
If you have not reduced the number of employees or the average paid hours of your employees between  
January 1, 2020 and the end of the Covered Period, check here ☐, skip lines 11 and 12 and enter 1.0 on line 13.  
Line 11. Average FTE during the Borrower’s chosen reference period:  
 
 
    
___________________ 
Line 12. Total Average FTE (add lines 2 and 5):                   
 
 
 
 
 
___________________ 
Line 13. FTE Reduction Quotient (divide line 12 by line 11) or enter 1.0 if FTE Safe Harbor is met:  
___________________               

Paycheck Protection Program                                  OMB Control Number 3245-0407 
Loan Forgiveness Application                                                Expiration Date: 10/31/2020 
 
SBA Form 3508 (05/20) 
 
Page 7 
 
Instructions for PPP Schedule A Worksheet 
 
Complete the PPP Schedule A Worksheet or obtain an equivalent report from the Borrower’s payroll system or payroll processor.   
 
Table Instructions 
 
Employee’s Name:  Separately list each employee.  Do not include any independent contractors, owner-employees, self-employed 
individuals, or partners. 
 
Employee Identifier:  Enter the last four digits of each employee’s Social Security Number. 
 
Cash Compensation:  Enter the sum of gross salary, gross wages, gross tips, gross commissions, paid leave (vacation, family, 
medical or sick leave, not including leave covered by the Families First Coronavirus Response Act), and allowances for dismissal or 
separation paid or incurred during the Covered Period or the Alternative Payroll Covered Period.  For each individual employee, the 
total amount of cash compensation eligible for forgiveness may not exceed an annual salary of $100,000, as prorated for the Covered 
Period; therefore, do not enter more than $15,385 in Table 1 or Table 2 for any individual employee. 
 
Average FTE:  This calculates the average full-time equivalency (FTE) during the Covered Period or the Alternative Payroll Covered 
Period.  For each employee, enter the average number of hours paid per week, divide by 40, and round the total to the nearest tenth.  
The maximum for each employee is capped at 1.0.  A simplified method that assigns a 1.0 for employees who work 40 hours or more 
per week and 0.5 for employees who work fewer hours may be used at the election of the Borrower.   
 
This calculation will be used to determine whether the Borrower’s loan forgiveness amount must be reduced due to a statutory 
requirement concerning reductions in full-time equivalent employees.  Borrowers are eligible for loan forgiveness for certain 
expenditures during the Covered Period or the Alternative Payroll Covered Period.  However, the actual loan forgiveness amount that 
the Borrower will receive may be less, depending on whether the Borrower’s average weekly number of FTE employees during the 
Covered Period or the Alternative Payroll Covered Period was less than during the Borrower’s chosen reference period (see 
Instructions to PPP Schedule A, Line 11).  The Borrower is exempt from such a reduction if the FTE Reduction Safe Harbor applies.  
See the FTE Reduction Safe Harbor instructions below. 
 
Salary/Hourly Wage Reduction:  This calculation will be used to determine whether the Borrower’s loan forgiveness amount must 
be reduced due to a statutory requirement concerning reductions in employee salary and wages.  Borrowers are eligible for loan 
forgiveness for certain expenditures during the Covered Period or the Alternative Payroll Covered Period.  However, the actual 
amount of loan forgiveness the Borrower will receive may be less, depending on whether the salary or hourly wages of certain 
employees during the Covered Period or the Alternative Payroll Covered Period was less than during the period from January 1, 2020 
to March 31, 2020.  If the Borrower restored salary/hourly wage levels, the Borrower may be eligible for elimination of the 
Salary/Hourly Wage Reduction amount.  Borrowers must complete this worksheet to determine whether to reduce the amount of loan 
forgiveness for which they are eligible.  Complete the Salary/Hour Wage Reduction column only for employees whose salaries or 
hourly wages were reduced by more than 25% during the Covered Period or the Alternative Payroll Covered Period as compared to 
the period of January 1, 2020 through March 31, 2020.  For each employee listed in Table 1, complete the following (using salary for 
salaried employees and hourly wage for hourly employees): 
 
Step 1. Determine if pay was reduced more than 25%. 
a. 
Enter average annual salary or hourly wage during Covered Period or Alternative Payroll Covered Period:  
______________. 
b. Enter average annual salary or hourly wage between January 1, 2020 and March 31, 2020:  ______________. 
c. 
Divide the value entered in 1.a. by 1.b.:  ______________.   
If 1.c. is 0.75 or more, enter zero in the column above box 3 for that employee; otherwise proceed to Step 2. 
 
Step 2. Determine if the Salary/Hourly Wage Reduction Safe Harbor is met. 
a. 
Enter the annual salary or hourly wage as of February 15, 2020:  ______________. 
b. Enter the average annual salary or hourly wage between February 15, 2020 and April 26, 2020:  
______________.  
If 2.b. is equal to or greater than 2.a., skip to Step 3. Otherwise, proceed to 2.c. 
c. 
Enter the average annual salary or hourly wage as of June 30, 2020:  ______________. 
If 2.c. is equal to or greater than 2.a., the Salary/Hourly Wage Reduction Safe Harbor has been met – enter 
zero in the column above box 3 for that employee.  Otherwise proceed to Step 3.  
 
Step 3. Determine the Salary/Hourly Wage Reduction. 
a. 
Multiply the amount entered in 1.b. by 0.75:  ______________. 
b. Subtract the amount entered in 1.a. from 3.a.: ______________. 

Paycheck Protection Program                                  OMB Control Number 3245-0407 
Loan Forgiveness Application                                                Expiration Date: 10/31/2020 
 
SBA Form 3508 (05/20) 
 
Page 8 
 
                      If the employee is an hourly worker, compute the total dollar amount of the reduction that exceeds 25% as follows: 
c. 
Enter the average number of hours worked per week between January 1, 2020 and March 31, 2020:  
______________. 
 
d. Multiply the amount entered in 3.b. by the amount entered in 3.c. ______________.  Multiply this amount by 
8: ______________.  Enter this value in the column above box 3 for that employee. 
If the employee is a salaried worker, compute the total dollar amount of the reduction that exceeds 25% as follows: 
e. 
Multiply the amount entered in 3.b. by 8:  ______________.  Divide this amount by 52:  ______________.  
Enter this value in the column above box 3 for that employee. 
 
FTE Reduction Exceptions:  Indicate the FTE of (1) any positions for which the Borrower made a good-faith, written offer to rehire 
an employee during the Covered Period or the Alternative Payroll Covered Period which was rejected by the employee; and (2) any 
employees who during the Covered Period or the Alternative Payroll Covered Period (a) were fired for cause, (b) voluntarily resigned, 
or (c) voluntarily requested and received a reduction of their hours.  In all of these cases, include these FTEs on this line only if the 
position was not filled by a new employee.  Any FTE reductions in these cases do not reduce the Borrower’s loan forgiveness. 
 
Boxes 1 through 5:  Enter the sums of the amounts in each of the columns.  
 
FTE Reduction Safe Harbor 
 
A safe harbor under applicable law and regulation exempts certain borrowers from the loan forgiveness reduction based on FTE 
employee levels.  Specifically, the Borrower is exempt from the reduction in loan forgiveness based on FTE employees described above 
if both of the following conditions are met: (1) the Borrower reduced its FTE employee levels in the period beginning February 15, 
2020, and ending April 26, 2020; and (2) the Borrower then restored its FTE employee levels by not later than June 30, 2020 to its FTE 
employee levels in the Borrower’s pay period that included February 15, 2020. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Paycheck Protection Program                                  OMB Control Number 3245-0407 
Loan Forgiveness Application                                                Expiration Date: 10/31/2020 
 
SBA Form 3508 (05/20) 
 
Page 9 
 
PPP Schedule A Worksheet 
 
Table 1:  List employees who: 
• 
Were employed by the Borrower at any point during the Covered Period or the Alternative Payroll Covered Period whose 
principal place of residence is in the United States; and  
• 
Received compensation from the Borrower at an annualized rate of less than or equal to $100,000 for all pay periods in 
2019 or were not employed by the Borrower at any point in 2019. 
Employee's Name
Employee 
Identifier
Cash Compensation
Average FTE 
FTE Reduction Exceptions:
Totals:
Box 1
Box 2
Box 3
Salary / Hourly Wage 
Reduction
 
 
Table 2: List employees who: 
• 
Were employed by the Borrower at any point during the Covered Period or the Alternative Payroll Covered Period whose 
principal place of residence is in the United States; and 
• 
Received compensation from the Borrower at an annualized rate of more than $100,000 for any pay period in 2019. 
 
Employee's Name
Employee 
Identifier
Cash Compensation
Totals:
Box 4
Box 5
Average FTE 
 
 
Attach additional tables if additional rows are needed. 
 
 
FTE Reduction Safe Harbor: 
 
Step 1. Enter the borrower’s total average FTE between February 15, 2020 and April 26, 2020.  Follow the same method that 
was used to calculate Average FTE in the PPP Schedule A Worksheet Tables.  Sum across all employees and enter:   
______________. 
 
Step 2. Enter the borrower’s total FTE in the Borrower’s pay period inclusive of February 15, 2020.  Follow the same method 
that was used in step 1:  ______________. 
 
Step 3. If the entry for step 2 is greater than step 1, proceed to step 4.  Otherwise, the FTE Reduction Safe Harbor is not 
applicable and the Borrower must complete line 13 of PPP Schedule A by dividing line 12 by line 11 of that schedule.  
 
Step 4. Enter the borrower’s total FTE as of June 30, 2020:  ______________. 
 
Step 5. If the entry for step 4 is greater than or equal to step 2, enter 1.0 on line 13 of PPP Schedule A; the FTE Reduction Safe 
Harbor has been satisfied.  Otherwise, the FTE Reduction Safe Harbor does not apply and the Borrower must complete 
line 13 of PPP Schedule A by dividing line 12 by line 11 of that schedule. 
 
 
  
 
 
 
 

Paycheck Protection Program                                  OMB Control Number 3245-0407 
Loan Forgiveness Application                                                Expiration Date: 10/31/2020 
 
SBA Form 3508 (05/20) 
 
Page 10 
 
Documents that Each Borrower Must Submit with its PPP Loan Forgiveness Application 
PPP Loan Forgiveness Calculation Form 
 
PPP Schedule A 
 
Payroll:  Documentation verifying the eligible cash compensation and non-cash benefit payments from the Covered Period or the 
Alternative Payroll Covered Period consisting of each of the following: 
a. 
Bank account statements or third-party payroll service provider reports documenting the amount of cash compensation paid 
to employees. 
b. Tax forms (or equivalent third-party payroll service provider reports) for the periods that overlap with the Covered Period 
or the Alternative Payroll Covered Period:  
i. 
Payroll tax filings reported, or that will be reported, to the IRS (typically, Form 941); and 
ii. State quarterly business and individual employee wage reporting and unemployment insurance tax filings reported, 
or that will be reported, to the relevant state. 
c. 
Payment receipts, cancelled checks, or account statements documenting the amount of any employer contributions to 
employee health insurance and retirement plans that the Borrower included in the forgiveness amount (PPP Schedule A, 
lines (6) and (7)). 
 
FTE:  Documentation showing (at the election of the Borrower): 
a. 
the average number of FTE employees on payroll per month employed by the Borrower between February 15, 2019 and 
June 30, 2019;  
b. the average number of FTE employees on payroll per month employed by the Borrower between January 1, 2020 and 
February 29, 2020; or 
c. 
in the case of a seasonal employer, the average number of FTE employees on payroll per month employed by the Borrower 
between February 15, 2019 and June 30, 2019; between January 1, 2020 and February 29, 2020; or any consecutive twelve-
week period between May 1, 2019 and September 15, 2019. 
The selected time period must be the same time period selected for purposes of completing PPP Schedule A, line 11.  Documents 
may include payroll tax filings reported, or that will be reported, to the IRS (typically, Form 941) and state quarterly business and 
individual employee wage reporting and unemployment insurance tax filings reported, or that will be reported, to the relevant state.  
Documents submitted may cover periods longer than the specific time period.  
 
Nonpayroll:  Documentation verifying existence of the obligations/services prior to February 15, 2020 and eligible payments from 
the Covered Period. 
a. 
Business mortgage interest payments: Copy of lender amortization schedule and receipts or cancelled checks verifying 
eligible payments from the Covered Period; or lender account statements from February 2020 and the months of the Covered 
Period through one month after the end of the Covered Period verifying interest amounts and eligible payments. 
b. Business rent or lease payments: Copy of current lease agreement and receipts or cancelled checks verifying eligible 
payments from the Covered Period; or lessor account statements from February 2020 and from the Covered Period through 
one month after the end of the Covered Period verifying eligible payments.  
c. 
Business utility payments: Copy of invoices from February 2020 and those paid during the Covered Period and receipts, 
cancelled checks, or account statements verifying those eligible payments. 
 
Documents that Each Borrower Must Maintain but is Not Required to Submit 
PPP Schedule A Worksheet or its equivalent and the following: 
a. 
Documentation supporting the listing of each individual employee in PPP Schedule A Worksheet Table 1, including the 
“Salary/Hourly Wage Reduction” calculation, if necessary.  
b. Documentation supporting the listing of each individual employee in PPP Schedule A Worksheet Table 2; specifically, that 
each listed employee received during any single pay period in 2019 compensation at an annualized rate of more than 
$100,000. 
c. 
Documentation regarding any employee job offers and refusals, firings for cause, voluntary resignations, and written 
requests by any employee for reductions in work schedule. 
d. Documentation supporting the PPP Schedule A Worksheet “FTE Reduction Safe Harbor.” 
 
All records relating to the Borrower’s PPP loan, including documentation submitted with its PPP loan application, documentation 
supporting the Borrower’s certifications as to the necessity of the loan request and its eligibility for a PPP loan, documentation 
necessary to support the Borrower’s loan forgiveness application, and documentation demonstrating the Borrower’s material 
compliance with PPP requirements.  The Borrower must retain all such documentation in its files for six years after the date the loan 
is forgiven or repaid in full, and permit authorized representatives of SBA, including representatives of its Office of Inspector 
General, to access such files upon request. 

Paycheck Protection Program                                  OMB Control Number 3245-0407 
Loan Forgiveness Application                                                Expiration Date: 10/31/2020 
 
SBA Form 3508 (05/20) 
 
Page 11 
 
 
PPP Borrower Demographic Information Form (Optional) 
 
Instructions 
 
1. Purpose.  Veteran/gender/race/ethnicity data is collected for program reporting purposes only.      
2. Description.  This form requests information about each of the Borrower’s Principals.  Add additional sheets if necessary. 
3. Definition of Principal.  The term “Principal” means: 
• 
For a self-employed individual, independent contractor, or a sole proprietor, the self-employed individual, independent 
contractor, or sole proprietor. 
• 
For a partnership, all general partners and all limited partners owning 20% or more of the equity of the Borrower, or any 
partner that is involved in the management of the Borrower’s business.   
• 
For a corporation, all owners of 20% or more of the Borrower, and each officer and director. 
• 
For a limited liability company, all members owning 20% or more of the Borrower, and each officer and director. 
• 
Any individual hired by the Borrower to manage the day-to-day operations of the Borrower (“key employee”). 
• 
Any trustor (if the Borrower is owned by a trust).  
• 
For a nonprofit organization, the officers and directors of the Borrower. 
4. Principal Name.  Insert the full name of the Principal. 
5. Position.  Identify the Principal’s position; for example, self-employed individual; independent contractor; sole proprietor; 
general partner; owner; officer; director; member; or key employee.   
 
  
Principal Name 
Position  
 
 
 
Disclosure is voluntary and will have no bearing on the loan forgiveness decision 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Paperwork Reduction Act – You are not required to respond to this collection of information unless it displays a currently valid OMB Control 
Number. The estimated time for completing this application, including gathering data needed, is 180 minutes.  Comments about this time or the 
information requested should be sent to Small Business Administration, Director, Records Management Division, 409 3rd St., SW, Washington DC 
20416, and/or SBA Desk Officer, Office of Management and Budget, New Executive Office Building, Washington DC 20503. 
Veteran 
1=Non-Veteran; 2=Veteran; 3=Service-Disabled Veteran; 4=Spouse of Veteran; X=Not 
Disclosed 
Gender 
M=Male; F=Female; X=Not Disclosed 
Race (more than 1 
may be selected) 
1=American Indian or Alaska Native; 2=Asian; 3=Black or African-American; 4=Native 
Hawaiian or Pacific Islander; 5=White; X=Not Disclosed 
Ethnicity 
H=Hispanic or Latino; N=Not Hispanic or Latino; X=Not Disclosed

File and source

File
SBA-Form-3508-PPP-Forgiveness-Application-2020-05.pdf
Size
300,883 bytes
SHA-256
ccf26c6e838d7bf1b3335e049efbb1dc357e0547e2f5cf150f5ccb0cf8fa1129
Our copy
SBA-Form-3508-PPP-Forgiveness-Application-2020-05.pdf
Original
home.treasury.gov
Back to top